Blog Tour & Review: The Silent Girl by Kelly Heard @bookouture @KHeardBooks

Posted April 11, 2021 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Mystery, Review / 0 Comments

 

Title: The Silent Girl

Publication Day: April 9th 2021

Author:  Kelly Heard  

Buy  Links:      

Amazon: http://ow.ly/p5X750DBAOw

Apple: http://ow.ly/2yO950DBAM8

Kobo: http://ow.ly/sBjQ50DBAJc 

Google: http://ow.ly/Hyyv50DBARZ

 

Description:

 

Sophie wakes in a cold hospital bed with no memory of her life before. She isn’t even sure if Sophie is her real name…

The police tell Sophie she was found alone, unconscious and surrounded by blood-red flower petals, on a remote stretch of highway. She had no I.D., no phone, and no one had reported her missing. But while Sophie’s identity is a mystery, one thing is clear: someone tried to kill her and they almost succeeded.

While she’s recovering, Sophie can’t shake the feeling someone is watching her. When a bouquet of red roses is sent to her room without a note, she is convinced they’re from the same people who left her for dead with crimson flowers woven through her hair…

With no one to turn to, Sophie takes a job working high in the mountains, miles from the nearest town, where she feels she might finally be safe. Until more red flowers begin appearing on the front step of her secluded cottage.

Every cell in Sophie’s body is telling her to run. But she is also desperate to know the truth about who she is. If she lets these people catch up with her, she could finally uncover her past… Or once again place her life in terrible danger…

A totally gripping psychological suspense novel that you won’t be able to put down and will keep you turning the pages late into the night. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the TrainThe Woman in the Window and The Silent Patient.

 

My Review:

Jane Doe is found unconscious in the woods badly bruised and covered in blood. When she finally wakes in the hospital she has no idea who she is, all she knows is she needs to find and help her brother Miles. The doctors say she suffers from dissociative amnesia. Is she just a girl in trouble or is she a danger to all those around her? Taking the name Sophie, she runs from the hospital and finds herself at Dovedorn House, where caretaker Nathaniel Wells hires her on as hired help. Will her memories come back and will Sophie finally find out what her mind has been guarding from her?

This story really grabs your attention with its mystery surrounding Sophie as we weave through the pages wondering what has happened to her in her past and how she was found bloodied and bruised. We get little pieces of the story as memories come flooding back, but we never get to see the full picture right away. I kept going back and forth with my own guesses and for the most part I guessed half correctly at least. Although, the mystery is pretty well hidden.
I really liked Sophie as a character and felt her character development was really fleshed through. I can feel compassion towards her and all that she is going through even if I may have had my doubts surrounding her innocence. She is scared yet fearless and there were so many other contradictions in the mix that makes you feel endeared towards her.

The story, I feel, is more character development as nothing much happens except for bits and pieces until closer to the end. I think this really helped in developing Sophie along with Nathaniel as they started to lean on one another for support as both were damaged in different ways. There is a slightly gothic feel towards the story centering around Dovemorn House and its tragic past which really set off some eerie vibes during the course of the story.

All in all, I really enjoyed The Silent Girl by Kelly Heard. It is a great story you can easily sink your teeth into.

 

Author Bio:

Kelly Heard is a novelist from Afton, Virginia. She published poetry in literary magazines before signing her debut novel, Before You Go, with Bookouture.
Kelly prefers writing to most other pastimes, but you’ll occasionally find her in the garden, hiking, or exploring antique shops.

Author Social Media Links:

 Twitter:  https://twitter.com/heardkj1

Website: www.kellyheardbooks.com

 

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.