Blog Tour and Review: Into the Darkest Day by Kate Hewitt @katehewitt1 @bookouture

Posted May 14, 2020 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Historical Fiction, Review / 0 Comments

Buy Links:
Book Description:

She had to step outside and hold the paper up to the moonlight to read it, but when she was able to make out the words, her heart felt as if it would drop right out of her chest. Because the message was in German.

1944, London:
When Lily meets enigmatic GI Matthew in war-torn London, she doesn’t expect to fall in love. While her sister starts a reckless affair with another GI, Lily tries to hide her growing feelings for Matthew.

But Matthew has a devastating secret. One that could change their lives forever.

Present day, USA:
Abby lives a quiet life on an apple farm in Wisconsin. Tormented by survivor’s guilt after the tragic deaths of her mother and brother, Abby leaves the orchards as little as possible, keeping her life small, peaceful and safe… Until she is contacted by Englishman Simon Elliot, who arrives nursing a heartbreak of his own, and bearing a World War Two medal that he claims belonged to Abby’s grandfather.

Together they begin to piece together the heartbreaking story of their relatives’ war. But as the story brings Abby and Simon closer—tentatively beginning to lean on one another to heal—they uncover a dark secret from the past.

And like Lily and Matthew nearly eighty years before them, it will make Abby and Simon question whether you can ever truly trust someone, even when they have your heart…

A heartbreakingly powerful, epic love story about courage, friendship and broken trusts, Into the Darkest Day is an unforgettable story perfect for fans of Nora Roberts, Kristin Hannah and The Notebook.

My Review:

Kate Hewitt never ceases to amaze me. I have been a huge fan for quite some time now and every new book release has all been five star reads for me. Into the Darkest Day is another example of Hewitt’s uber talented writing and if you haven’t guessed it, another five star read. As if I ever had any doubts it would be anything less!

I absolutely love history, especially stories centered around World War II. I listen to stories from my grandmother about the past and her time growing up during the war and her work at the military base. Hewitt really captures the essence of the time period during World War II and I could see all of the research that went into this story, heck even I learned a few things while reading.

Abby Reese lives on an apple farm in Wisconsin with her father. She suffers from a terrible loss fifteen years earlier and since then, her relationship with her father has been strained. When Simon Elliot emails and asks to meet Abby, Abby’s curiosity gets the best of her, especially since Sam claims to have a WWII medal that belonged to her grandfather. What is the story behind the medal and why would Sam’s grandmother be in possession of something so valuable?

Told in dual timelines from the past to the present, Hewitt weaves an emotionally charged story right from the first chapter. I was enthralled as soon as I began reading and my attention never wavered. I knew once I started I would not be able to put this book down, so once again, I was up till 4AM reading fighting for my eyes to stay open. I do have to admit though, that this always seems to be the case when it comes to a new book by Hewitt. This is such a classic kind of story. I don’t know what it is, but Hewitt really captures a time period and her words made me feel as if I was actually there seeing everything play out before my eyes. I had so many different emotions while reading and may have even become a little teary eyed (Yes! Another trait reading a book by Hewitt and it never seems to fail.)

I remember reading the blurb to this story and in the blurb it likened this story to one of my all time favorite movies/books, The Notebook. I have to say, Into the Darkest Day really lived up to my expectations and gave me all the feels just like The Notebook did when I first watched it in the theaters. I am not one to reread books, but this story definitely made a lasting impression and is one I would definitely love to reread sometime soon.

Into the Darkest Day is gripping and captivating! It is a heartfelt and honest story that is sure to be a favorite for fans of kate Hewitt and fans of WWII stories. I cannot say enough good things about this book. A definite keeper for my keeper shelf!

Author Bio:
Kate Hewitt is the author of many romance and women’s fiction novels. A former New Yorker and now an American ex-pat, she lives in a small town on the Welsh border with her husband, five children, and their overly affectionate Golden Retriever. Whatever the genre, she enjoys telling stories that tackle real issues and touch people’s lives.
Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.