Review: Wildland by Rebecca Hodge @rhodgefiction @crookedlanebks

Posted February 27, 2020 by sinfully in Contemporary Fiction, Review / 0 Comments

Review: Wildland by Rebecca Hodge @rhodgefiction @crookedlanebksWildland by Rebecca Hodge
Published by Crooked Lane Books on February 11, 2020
Genres: Contemporary Fiction
Pages: 259
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
ASIN: B07RSNBCS5

AmazonGoodreads

For fans of Jodi Picoult and Anita Shreve comes an exhilarating debut novel of one woman's courage in the face of catastrophe.

She'll do anything to save them.
But what will she do to save herself?

When Kat Jamison retreats to the Blue Ridge Mountains, she's counting on peace and solitude to help her make a difficult decision. Her breast cancer has returned, but after the death of her husband, her will to fight is dampened. Now she has a choice to make: face yet another round of chemotherapy or surrender gracefully.

Self-reflection quickly proves impossible as her getaway is complicated by a pair of abandoned dogs and two friendly children staying nearby, Lily and Nirav. In no time at all, Kat's quiet seclusion is invaded by the happy confusion of children and pets.

But when lightning ignites a deadly wildfire, Kat's cabin is cut off from the rest of the camp, separating Lily and Nirav from their parents. Left with no choice, Kat, the children, and the dogs must flee on foot through the drought-stricken forest, away from the ravenous flames. As a frantic rescue mission is launched below the fire line, Kat drives the party deeper into the mountains, determined to save four innocent lives. But when the moment comes to save her own, Kat will have to decide just how hard she's willing to fight to survive--and what's worth living for.

A heart-pounding novel of bravery, sacrifice, and self-discovery, Wildland will keep you on the edge of your seat to the very last page.

Wow! Wow! Wow! Wildland is the addictive, pulse-pounding debut novel by the talented writer, Rebecca Hodge. It is no secret, I love a lot of books, but nothing prepared me for this one. Just imagine taking a retreat into the mountains with only one road leading down to the bottom with a wooden bridge needing to be crossed to get there, completely isolated, no landline phone and no cell phone service. There is a steep drop off the mountain to one side and a forest on the other. I was already having a fit with the steep drop off the mountain part, now add in a deadly wildfire caused by lightning on a mountain and I. Would. Just. Die. Luckily for me, I was reading this at home cause 100 pages in and I had a complete look of horror on my face, I probably would have scared people!

I just love Kat Jamison. She is such a well-rounded character who has to make a tough decision regarding her life. Her breast cancer has returned and Kat is not sure she has the energy or the willpower left to go through another round of chemo. Taking a one month break in the mountains should help her clear her head enough to decide if she wants to fight to live or just give up. It doesn’t help matters when her daughter leaves Kat with a yellow lab for company. Not being a dog person, Kat really doesn’t want to be responsible for another life, but now she has no choice. Added into the mix are two children, Lily 12 years old and Nirav who is 9 who are also staying with their fathers in cabins on the mountain. While the kids are at a sleepover at Kat’s a wildfire breaks out and giving up is no longer an option for Kat with the life of the two children and dogs left in her care.

This really is a story about surviving and hope. I also could not help but notice the parallels between Kat with her breast cancer and making the tough decision to keep going on or to give up and her determination when the fires break out and not only is her life on the line, but also that of the children and dogs. It really made me ask myself if Kat was stronger than she thought she was while fighting her inner turmoils. I will say one thing though, Through it all I could see how brave Kat is throughout the story.

With the fires that were just in California and more recently in Australia, I think this book will resonate with a lot of readers. It is just so heartbreaking for people to lose their homes and also so devastating for the wildlife who have lost their lives. There were so many parts to this story where I was really worried for the dogs as I don’t like to hear, see or read about anything happening to animals. I have a lot of pets (10 cats and 3 dogs). I always think to myself if there was ever a fire in my house how I would get them all out and in all honesty, while I can save the dogs, I would have to open up all the doors and hope the cats all make it out. I don’t even like thinking about it.

Wildland is a keep you on the edge of your seat thrilling and emotional read that will really make you stop and think about what you would do if you were ever in this situation. This is an intense read well deserving of five stars and one I highly recommend if you like your stories with a strong shot of adrenaline coursing through your veins. If a debut novel is this awesome, I definitely cannot wait to see what Rebecca Hodge has in store for her readers next.

About Rebecca Hodge

Rebecca Hodge is an author of fiction, a veterinarian, and a clinical research scientist who lives and writes in North Carolina. Fiction writing is the space where her creative side comes out to play, and her writing centers on characters who discover that life is not a spectator sport. She has three grown sons, two crazy dogs, and one patient husband. When not busy writing, she loves hiking, travel, and (of course) curling up with a good book. ‘Wildland’ is her debut novel.

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.