Blog Tour and Review: The Day That Changed Everything by Catherine Miller @bookouture @katylittlelady

Posted January 18, 2020 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Contemporary Fiction, Women's Fiction / 0 Comments

Buying Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3a1vqiG
Kobo: https://bit.ly/2TmYYSb
Apple Books: https://apple.co/36RPSkh
Google Play: https://bit.ly/35Qq5ra

Book Description:

When you lose the love of your life, how do you find yourself again?

For Tabitha, the day that changed everything started like any other.

She woke up, slid her feet into fluffy slippers, wrapped herself in a dressing gown and tiptoed out of her bedroom, leaving her husband Andy sleeping. Downstairs, she boiled the kettle and enjoyed a cup of tea as the sun rose.

Upstairs, Andy’s alarm sounded, and Tabitha took him a freshly brewed coffee, like every other morning. Except today, the incessant beeping rang out and her husband hadn’t stirred. She called his name, she nudged his shoulder. But Andy wouldn’t wake up.

Three years later Tabitha is trying her hardest to get by in the shadow of her grief. She may have lost the love of her life but she won’t give up on the family they dreamed of. Fostering troublesome teenage girls and a newborn baby is a chance to piece together her broken heart.

But being a mother isn’t easy, and neither is healing the heartache she carries around. After losing everything, could saving these three children help Tabitha save herself too?

This stunning tale will make you laugh and cry in equal measure, hold your loved ones close and see the beauty in the little things in life. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will love this moving and uplifting story.

My Review:

The Day That Changed Everything is the second book I have read by the talented author, Catherine Miller. I first fell in love with Miller’s writing style in her previous book, 99 Days with You, and I was hoping that her newest addition would live up to my expectations. I am thrilled to say that Miller has hit me again with all of the feels.

The day that changed everything for Tabitha Sanderson is the day her husband quietly passed away in his sleep. What do you do when you have lost the one person you have loved most in this world? You try to survive the best way you can. Three years later, Tabitha still can’t get over her grief, but decides to move forward with the family she has always wanted. Fostering children is not easy especially when she lands herself as a foster parent to two unruly teenage girls, and an infant. Can they all be what each other needs to heal a broken heart?

Catherine Miller really writes such a powerful story that is both heartfelt and uplifting at the same time. Tabitha has the love of her life and Max and Syd, her foster children, seem to have been tossed around in the system never to have found a place to really call home. To say that Miller’s characters have lost their way is an understatement. I can feel the raw emotion and heartache just oozing off of the pages. I can feel how broken they all were and how Tabitha, Max and Syd hid their grief unable to put into words how they truly felt.

There are so many great things about this story and there are so many emotions weaved between the pages. Sure, most of it is sad, but Miller throws in these humorous little tidbits that keeps the story flowing with a positive outlook. Between some of the chapters are these little passages that are heartfelt and honest and really make you think about the story you are reading. I think the passages really speak to you about the general theme of the book.

I loved Tabitha as a character. She is well written, has heart, is damaged, but still yet so full of love. Max and Syd are twin fifteen year old girls who have lost their way and their faith in the system and I could see this through their actions with Tabitha and I felt they added that little bit of something that Tabitha needed to heal her heart so she could heal the twins in return.

The Day That Changed Everything is raw and uncensored. It is a powerful story with such an emotional message and I think for anyone who has lost a loved one can relate to Tabitha in some way. This is a fantastic book to add to your TBR and one I am giving 5 wonderful stars to.

Author Bio:

When Catherine Miller became a mum to twins, she decided her hands weren’t full enough so wrote a novel with every spare moment she managed to find. By the time the twins were two, Catherine had a two-book deal with Carina UK. Her debut novel, Waiting For You, came out in March 2016. Catherine was a NHS physiotherapist, but for health reasons she retired early from this career. As she loved her physiotherapy job, she decided if she couldn’t do that she would pursue her writing dream. It took a few years and a couple of babies, but in 2015 she won the Katie Fforde bursary, was a finalist in the London Book Fair Write Stuff Competition and highly commended in Woman magazine’s writing competition. Since then she’s had four novels published.

https://katylittlelady.com/
@katylittlelady

 

 

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.