Blog Tour and Review: When You’re Gone by Brooke Harris @Janelle_Brooke @bookouture

Posted March 16, 2019 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Contemporary Fiction, Review, Women's Fiction / 0 Comments

When You’re Gone by Brooke Harris

 

Holly was overjoyed to discover she was pregnant. But the baby is unwell, and her relationship is fracturing under the stress. Just when she is at her lowest, she receives the worst news of all: her beloved nana, Annie, is dying.

But Annie has one final wish before she leaves. She asks Holly to find a memory box in the attic, and to read the handwritten pages within it to her, the most precious things she owns.

It’s the story of Arthur ‘Sketch’ Talbot, Annie’s first – and last – love, and how much he sacrificed to save her from a home where she didn’t feel safe. It’s Annie’s promise to Holly that it doesn’t matter how long you love someone – but how much.

As Holly reads her nana’s story to her one last time, could it help her find the strength to face her own future? Is fulfilling her grandmother’s final wish really a gift for Holly?

Compelling, heart-breaking, and emotionally vivid, When You’re Gone will break your heart and fix it anew. A gripping and emotional novel about family, love and sacrifice, for fans of Diane Chamberlain, Susan Lewis and Kathryn Hughes’ The Letter.

Previously published as When It Rains. This edition contains significant editorial revisions.

My Review:

There are so many things I would love to say about When You’re Gone and I am afraid anything that I do say won’t give this book the justice that it deserves. Brooke Harris’ talent for writing an emotionally gripping story will just grab you so deeply and never let go. Harris hits you hard with all the feels, all the emotions will just bubble forth and at times, will make you cry your eyes out. It is not often I read such a powerful story with such a strong message where I want to sit back and just remember and then go right back to the beginning and start reading all over again. For an example, my all time favorite movie is The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. I went to see this movie every weekend in the theatres with a friend of mine and cried every single time until sadly, it left the theaters. Nothing I have ever read and no other movie ever came as close to what I felt for The Notebook, until I read When You’re Gone. Harris has done what so many other authors have tried to do….make me fall in love with a story.

Brooke Harris has created wonderfully written characters that you can root for, that you want to see their happiness even through all of the sadness. Holly is such an exceptional character. She is going through a tough time with her breakup from Nate and even tougher time accepting the fate of her unborn baby who is very ill. Sadly, during this time, her grandmother is also very sick and does not have much time left. Here we learn about Annie and her story and it so emotionally heartbreaking. But, Annie’s story is two-fold as it opens up Holly to learning how to live and find the strength within herself to go on and to find happiness.

When You’re Gone is told in the present and the past interweaving Annie’s story along with Holly’s in the present. I really found myself savoring every moment of this story as I just did not want it to end. I teared up for many scenes, sighed through many scenes (it just grabbed my heart), and then sobbed my eyes out. Wow! I am still in awe by what I have just read. Brooke Harris is a tremendously talented writer and it is times like this where I am so glad I read books.

When You’re Gone is simply captivating. It is emotionally heartbreaking and yet uplifting at the same time. It is a story about family, love, acceptance and knowing when to let go. I can not recommend this book highly enough. There are not enough stars to show just how much this book meant to me you will just have to read it for yourself in order to understand how much of a great book this truly is. Top read of the year!

 
About the author
 

USA Today bestselling author Brooke Harris is a self diagnosed romance addict. Realising at the age of seven that being a real person and not a cartoon character may prove a hindrance when applying for a role as a Disney Princess, she decided to create her own stories. As a grown up Brooke tried swapping the heels and tiaras in her stories for sex and revenge and published her first book, Rules of Harte in 2014. The Harte Series went on to become a #1 international bestseller.

Brooke lives in Kildare, Ireland with her young family. She daydreams about a climate where it doesn’t rain every day, but secretly she loves the green fields and heritage of Ireland.

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.