Blog Blitz and Review: Knowing You by Samantha Tonge @rararesources @SamTongeWriter

Posted March 14, 2019 by sinfully in Blog Blitz, Women's Fiction / 0 Comments

 

Knowing You

An abrupt change; a new friendship; a dark secret…

Kind-hearted Violet has never fitted in, but despite being bullied at school is now content. She is dating ambitious Lenny, has her dream job in publishing and runs a book club at the local retirement home.

However, when her relationship with Lenny begins to falter, Violet, hurt and alone, seeks the advice of her new flatmate, Bella. She changes her image and with her head held high aims to show that she doesn’t need Lenny in her life to be happy and successful.

Her long-term friends Mable and Farah worry about Bella’s influence and slowly Violet starts to distance herself from them. When she was a child, her closest confidant and companion was a boy called Flint. Her mother didn’t approve of their closeness and he suffered a terrible end. She won’t let the same thing happen to Bella, no matter what anyone says…

Knowing You is about friendship and knowing who to trust with your deepest secrets; it’s about taking control of your life and not being afraid to stand out. Perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Gail Honeyman and Amanda Prowse

Purchase Links

Amazon – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07MX87BH1/?_encoding=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&linkCode=ur2&tag=canelo-21
Apple – https://geo.itunes.apple.com/gb/book/knowing-you/id1449854707?mt=11&uo=8&at=1000l5Q7
Google – https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=aRiEDwAAQBAJ
Kobo – https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/knowing-you-6

My Review:

I wasn’t quite sure what I was getting myself into when I first started reading Violet’s story and I will admit, I didn’t quite like her in the beginning as Violet came off as a pushover. But, then something magical happened and I found myself really warming up to Violet as her story is slowly revealed. Violet is content with her life, her job in publishing, and with her boyfriend Lenny. Sure, they might not have the perfect relationship and have grown kind of distant as of late, but Lenny is her rock. But, once Violet finds out Lenny has cheated on her, her world comes crumbling down. It takes a new flatmate, Bella, to show Violet that she is worth more then the pity party she has bestowed on herself. Only, Bella’s intentions send Violet down a dark path. Will Violet ever truly find the person she truly is deep down inside?

Knowing You hits on so many issues women face in today’s society. Beauty standards have been set so high and many women feel as if they are not skinny enough or pretty enough. When Violet starts changing herself, I couldn’t help but wonder why. Why should someone change themselves to fit into some beauty standard that is often times unattainable. With flashbacks to Violet’s past, I can see why she needed the confidence boost and why she felt as if her life was spiraling out of control. Her past as a child is heartbreaking. This brings me to another issue Samantha Tonge brings to this book – that of bullying. I hate seeing anyone bullied especially a child and I can also understand Violet’s love of books also created a sort of escapism for her. Through everything Violet has been through I was really hoping she would find her way and in the process find who she was always meant to be. Violet is a good person. She loves books, has great friends, is in a book club with some older women and she has a great life even though she does not see it that way.

The story really pulled me right in and I loved the back and forth between past and present because I feel like it gave me a chance to really bond with Violet. Although, I may not have always been happy with her choices and as the story moves along you can see her spiraling. Tonge really adds a sense of realism to the story and it never felt like the story was not genuine. The pacing starts slower, but once Violet meets Bella this is when the story really takes off for me and I found myself really drawn in. Although, I really did not know where the story would lead me I never anticipated how dark it would get. I absolutely loved every minute of Knowing You and cannot find anything I disliked at all in this story.

Knowing You is brutally honest and emotionally gripping. Samantha Tonge brings forth some heavy topics and does it so realistically and beautifully. I can now see why Samantha Tonge is a fan favorite. I highly recommend this book especially if you love Women’s Fiction wrapped into a dark storyline.

About Samantha Tonge

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.
When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.
In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

Links
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor
Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.