Blog Tour & Review: Beyond the Olive Grove by Kate Hewitt @bookouture

Posted August 18, 2021 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Review, Women's Fiction / 0 Comments

Buy Link:
Book Description:

The place seemed utterly still, the only sound was the wind rustling high in the pines above. Standing there, realizing she didn’t even know which house had belonged to her grandmother, Ava wondered just how crazy and desperate she’d been to come all this way with no hope or plan.

When Ava arrives in Greece, it’s with a heart that’s shattered into a thousand pieces. But as she pulls up in a tiny village nestled on a cliff above the glittering Ionian Sea, and steps out in front of a tumbledown house that once belonged to her grandmother Sophia, everything changes.

At first Ava almost wants to laugh at this bizarre inheritance—a home that has been uninhabited since the Second World War—that appears as close to collapse as she herself feels. But with nowhere left to run to, her only choice is to start putting the house together again.

What Ava doesn’t expect is for pieces of her grandmother’s story to emerge, as a local survivor from the war begins to share her secrets. Ava can’t help but be drawn to Sophia’s hidden past… even though the truth could change her own life forever.

Because Sophia’s story is one of devastating choices she had to make during the Nazi invasion of her beloved country. It’s a story of bravery, betrayal and tragedy. But most of all, it is a story about love…

An utterly unforgettable story of two remarkable women who find the strength to persevere against all odds and find hope, courage and light in the darkness. Perfect for fans of The NightingaleThe Lilac Girls and Victoria Hislop’s The Island.

Previously published as The Other Side of the Bridge by Katharine Swartz.

My Review:

Kate Hewitt writes with such passion and this can be seen time and time again with each book she releases. Beyond the Olive Grove is another such story filled with heartache, compassion and love.

Ava is at a crossroads. Her marriage to Simon is falling apart, her grandmother has passed and Ava is also suffering from another heartbreaking loss. All of this combined has Ava leaving the safety and comfort of her home in England to a tiny village in Greece where her grandmother, Sophia, once lived. Ava is not sure what she will find or even if this is the right decision she is making. Will Ava find herself again while learning more about her grandmother and her life during the end of WWII?

There is something about Hewitt’s stories that just draws you right in. She paints a vivid picture with each scene almost making you feel as if you can see and feel what each of her characters feel. We see that here also with Ava and Sophia and through their stories we learn the heartbreaking reality of what both have gone through and yet how they both persevere through it all after feeling so lost and helpless

Once again, Hewitt has written a captivating and breathtaking story with Beyond the Olive Grove. I highly recommend picking up this book and it is again another 5 star read from me.

Author Bio:
Kate Hewitt is the author of many romance and women’s fiction novels. A former New Yorker and now an American ex-pat, she lives in a small town on the Welsh border with her husband, five children, and their overly affectionate Golden Retriever. Whatever the genre, she enjoys telling stories that tackle real issues and touch people’s lives.
Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.