Blog Tour & review: The Family Across the Street by Nicole Trope @nicoletrope @bookouture

Posted August 7, 2021 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Domestic Thriller, Review, Thriller / 0 Comments

Book Description:

Sometimes, the most perfect families are hiding the most terrible secrets. How well do you know the people next door…?

Everybody wants to live on Hogarth Street, the pretty, tree-lined avenue with its white houses. The new family, The Wests, are a perfect fit. Katherine and John seem so in love and their gorgeous five-year-old twins race screeching around their beautiful emerald-green lawn.

But soon people start to notice: why don’t they join backyard barbecues? Why do they brush away offers to babysit? Why, when you knock at the door, do they shut you out, rather than inviting you in?

Every family has secrets, and on the hottest day of the year, the truth is about to come out. As a tragedy unfolds behind closed doors, the dawn chorus is split by the wail of sirens. And one by one the families who tried so hard to welcome the Wests begin to realise: Hogarth Street will never be the same again.

A completely gripping, twist-packed psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and Lisa Jewell.

My Review:

Nicole Trope’s newest book,The Family Across the Street, asks an age old question: Do we ever really know our neighbors and the secrets that they keep?

What we perceive from the outside we never know what is happening behind closed doors. This can be said for anyone as we never really know, other than what is shown to us, how people behave and act towards each other in their own homes. We see that here in this story with Katherine and John West. They appear to be the perfect happy family, they seem to have a great marriage with five year old twins. But, one day their neighbor Gladys realizes something is amiss and the twins are not up and running around the house as usual, nor have they left for school and when shots are heard coming from next door, their quiet friendly neighborhood will never be the same again.

This story is told through multiple points of view from Gladys, the next door busybody neighbor, Logan a delivery driver with his own checkered past, to Katherine West as she tries to navigate the safety of her children, and last but not least, the person holding Katherine and her twins hostage in their home.

I wasn’t exactly sure how all of these voices of the major characters of this story were all going to converge as at first they seem unrelated, especially that of Logan and his younger sister, a victim herself of a crime as well. But, Trope did such an amazing job with the characterization of each of our four storytellers with just the right balance of getting to know each one just as equal as the next.

The Family Across the Street is an intense domestic thriller that will grip you right from the start. I highly recommend giving this one a read. A definite 5 stars from me

Author Bio:

Nicole Trope went to university to study Law but realised the error of her ways when she did very badly on her first law essay because, as her professor pointed out, ‘It’s not meant to be a story.’

She studied teaching instead and used her holidays to work on her writing career and complete a Masters’ degree. In between raising three children, working for her husband and renovating houses, she has published six novels. She lives in Sydney, Australia.

https://www.facebook.com/NicoleTrope/

https://www.instagram.com/nicoletropeauthor/

https://twitter.com/nicoletrope

 

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.