Blog Tour & Review: The Life She Wants by J.M. Hewitt @jmhewitt @rararesources

Posted July 12, 2021 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Psychological Thriller, Review / 0 Comments

 

The Life She Wants

You want to save your marriage. She wants to destroy it.

Paula worries that her marriage to Tommy is hanging by a thread. She loves how safe her husband makes her feel, but lately, it seems like he’s pulling away from her, and he keeps avoiding a much-needed conversation about finally having children.

When Tommy suggests a cruise getaway for the two of them, Paula is thrilled. He’s fighting for this marriage, and he’s even promised that they will talk about growing their family. It’s Paula’s dream come true. Until the couple meets beautiful Anna.

From the moment Anna appears in their lives, things start to go wrong for Paula. She finds herself trapped in a sauna. Her hair is destroyed at the salon. Money goes missing from her cabin. At first, Paula thinks she’s paranoid in suspecting Anna is turning her dream holiday into a nightmare. But soon, it becomes clear that Paula may not be the only woman fighting for Tommy’s affections.

How far will Anna go to get what she wants? What lines will Paula cross to protect her marriage? And whose dark past will return to destroy them first?

The Life She Wants is a suspenseful psychological thriller with a twist. Perfect for fans of Catherine Ryan Howard, Ruth Ware, and Lisa Jewell.

Purchase Links

Ebook – https://geni.us/TLSWebook
Paperback – https://geni.us/TLSWpaperback

 

My Review:

Paula Ellis loves her husband, Tommy, but their marriage isn’t really going all that well right now. But, all of that is about to change when Tommy suggests they go away on a cruise to Iceland. Paula is ecstatic and thinks this will be the perfect opportunity to rekindle their romance and even talk about finally having children.

Anna Masi covets Paula’s life and it angers her that while Paula has everything handed to her on a silver platter, she is still unhappy with her life. Anna thinks Tommy would be better off with her and will do everything and anything it takes to make that happen.

What at first might seem like a simple story quickly takes a deadly turn when strange things begin happening to Paula, but is everything the way it seems or is there something even more surprising about to be revealed?

Well, I have to hand it to the author, J.M. Hewitt, she really got me on this one! It is almost as if she pulled a magic trick right in front of my eyes. Holy hell! I love when a book, that seems rather straightforward, winds up not so straightforward after all and makes you question everything you thought you knew.

I always find it funny when I love a book, but hate every character. This is when you know the writing is so good and the story so spectacular that you don’t even need to feel any emotions for the characters. Paula, Anna and Tommy are the type of characters you love to hate while wondering if any of them can be redeemed even in some small way.

The story is told in the present through the lens of Paula and Anna and we also get flashbacks of a young girl’s rough life growing up. It was interesting to see how the two stories converged and why the story of a young girl is so important and relative to everything going on in the present. This was written so well and so detailed.

I would like to point out that there are some trigger warnings such as anorexia and talking about child abuse.

J.M Hewitt’s The Life She Wanted will blow your mind. This is a story that you do not want to miss out on. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and ahem….shouting at the twists!

Author Bio –

J.M. Hewitt is the author of five crime fiction novels. Her work has also been published in three short story anthologies. Her books usually incorporate twentieth and twenty-first century events and far-flung locations, and her novels explore the darker side of human behaviour. In contrast to the sometimes dark content of her books, she lives a very nice life in a seaside town in Suffolk with her dog, Marley.

Website
www.jmhewitt.net

Twitter
@jmhewitt

Facebook Author Page
J.MHewittauthor

Instagram
j.mhewitt

 

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.