Blog Tour & Review: Last Scene Alive by J.R. Adler @bookouture @JRAdlerAuthor

Posted April 20, 2021 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Mystery, Review / 0 Comments

Book Description:

One hot summer’s evening, ten-year-old Piper Chase went off on her pink bicycle towards the dark woods on Black Heart Lane. She never came home…

Piper cycles off one hot Oklahoma evening for a sleepover with her new friend Miley from summer camp. But when she doesn’t come home, her grandparents raise the alarm.

Detective Kimberley King knows that the first twenty-four hours in a missing child investigation are the most critical, but with no witnesses, and darkness falling in the small town of Dead Woman Crossing, she begins to fear the worst. She longs to find the little girl with wide blue eyes and an infectious smile, but when her team discovers Piper’s body in a woodland clearing, lying on a bed of moss, something inside her dies.

Then she gets a call that chills her to the bone. Piper’s friend Miley has gone missing

Desperate to find the monster who has taken these little girls, Kimberley chases down all the leads she has. The summer camp counsellor, who got too close to Piper and Miley and lost his job. Piper’s shifty uncle, who arrived back in town the day she disappeared…

And as another dark night descends on Dead Woman Crossing, Kimberley can’t stop thinking about Miley, trapped in the darkest place of all. With the clock ticking, Kimberley knows she must act fast, before another innocent life is stolen.

A gripping, heart-wrenching crime thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat, holding your breath. Last Day Alive is perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Carol Wyer.

My Review:

Reading a book by J.R Adler is like sipping a fine wine. Sit back, relax and enjoy every glorious word. There are very few series that I enjoy (other than in the romance genre) and Adler’s Detective Deputy King series is on the top of my list. I know this is only book 2 but I became a huge fan after reading Dead Woman Crossing, the first book in the series. I am definitely hoping and praying this will be a very, very long series because I just can’t get enough of Chief deputy Kimberly King.

I know when I read a book by Adler I will easily get sucked right in. It happened with the first in the series and again with this newest release. Adler has such a way with words that easily draws you in and doesn;t let go until you get to the very last page. Then, you will wish there was another book in the series you could read next. Grrr! I hate waiting!

Kimbery King is definitely a force to be reckoned with. She is passionate about her job and takes her career seriously. Originally a detective in NYC, she moved to Dead Woman Crossing because of an old case that has not been resolved. Her mother, Nicole, is in the small little town as well, but their relationship is rocky at best. She loves her mother but may not necessarily always agree with her choices. Kimberly is also a devoted mother to her two year old daughter, Jessica and would do anything to keep her daughter safe.

I really love the dynamic between her and Sam, her boss. The sparks between the two are off the charts and I am desperately waiting for them to get together! Gah! It NEEDS to happen!

Adler throws a lot of red herrings in regards to the perpetrator and with numerous leads, I kept going back and forth on who might be behind it all. I also do love that we get to see in the mind of the perpetrator which in itself was extremely creepy.

Great book, great story, great series and always fantastic storytelling. Adler has a real winner with Last Seen Alive. Another five star read for me!

Author Bio:
Originally from Wisconsin, J.R. Adler currently lives in Ithaca, New York with her husband, Drew, and her English Bulldog, Winston. When not writing, you can find her reading, playing board games, travelling, and binge watching The Office for the umpteenth time.
Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.