Blog Tour and Review: His First Wife’s Secret by Emma Robinson @bookouture @emmarobinsonuk

Posted April 17, 2021 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Contemporary Fiction, Review / 0 Comments

Book Description:

The tears began to flow. ‘I can’t do this on my own,’ Emily sobbed. ‘I don’t know how.’

When Emily’s husband dies in a terrible accident, she’s not the only wife he leaves behind.

Because, before their whirlwind romance and Emily’s discovery she was pregnant, Pete had been married to Caroline for more than twenty years. A devastating tragedy had torn them apart. But there was a part of Pete that had never fully left his first wife and a secret that would bind them together, forever.

Finding herself lonely, heartbroken, and forced to face life and motherhood alone – Emily is surprised that Caroline offers her support. But Emily knows she needs someone she can trust and rely on. Even if it’s the woman her husband loved before her.

A tentative friendship develops and their lives become entwined. Their bond grows ever stronger as Caroline steps in to help when Emily’s baby arrives unexpectedly early. But it’s not just Caroline hiding a secret. Both of the women who once loved Pete have things they can never admit, without risking a friendship that might be the only thing keeping them both afloat.

When grief begins to takes its toll on Emily, she feels sure that Caroline is the only person who can save her and baby Dylan… But should she trust the woman he loved before her – with her life… Or her child’s?

An utterly devastating, but ultimately uplifting, emotional women’s fiction novel about friendship, motherhood and loss. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Susan Lewis and Jojo Moyes.

My Review:

His First Wife’s Secret is the first book I have read by Emma Robinson. I knew going into this book that it would be heartbreaking, but I never expected the rollercoaster of emotions throughout this beautifully written heartfelt story about two women both lost in their own ways and yet both drawn to each other in ways unimaginable.

Emily is only just married when her husband Pete is in an accident and dies leaving a pregnant Emily’s world completely shattered. But Emily isn’t the only one grieving. His first wife, Caroline already suffered a devastating loss a few years prior. When Emily and Caroline meet for the first time a friendship of sorts ensues especially after Emily gives birth. But, both women are hiding painful secrets from each other secrets that have the capability of tearing apart their fragile friendship. Are these secrets too much for them or will they bring them even closer together?

There is so much going on in this story from death, depression, guilt, blame and so many more themes that are interwoven through this story. It all really lends a sense of believability and some themes are ones most can relate to especially mothers. This is not always an easy story to read and may even hit close to home for some readers, but the take-away from this story is such a powerful message and that is one of forgiveness and of growing.

This is very much a character driven book and being such I was really invested in both the characters of Emily and Caroline as they both suffered through different traumas and losses and had to learn how to cope in their own ways which may not always be the healthiest of choices, but it was definitely very relatable and told with brutal honesty. I may not have always liked what they did but I can see the reasons why. I think any reader, once delving into this beautifully moving story, can understand in some parts both of these women.

His First Wife’s Secret is a powerfully moving, heartbreaking, and yes at times uplifting story that will have you glued to the pages wanting what is best for two women who suffered terrible losses.

Author Bio:
Emma Robinson is the author of several women’s fiction novels. She also blogs about the funny side of parenting and has contributed to podcasts such as Funny Women. Whilst her early novels are humorous, her recent work focuses on emotional themes and these novels are both heart-breaking and life affirming. Emma enjoys writing stories which explore the power of family and friendship in the most challenging circumstances.

Emma currently lives in Essex with a husband, two children and a small black dog.

https://motherhoodforslackers.com/

https://www.facebook.com/motherhoodforslackers

https://twitter.com/emmarobinsonuk

 

 

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.