Blog Tour & Review: Save My Daughter by Sam Vickery @bookouture

Posted April 1, 2021 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Review, Women's Fiction / 0 Comments

Book Description:

As soon as we sat on the ride I knew something was wrong. I couldn’t relax. I couldn’t hear the theme park music, the giggles of my two other children. I’d left my baby in someone else’s care. And I knew I’d made a mistake…

With her two beautiful children and newborn baby Ella, Lily’s life is full of love and laughter. She gave up her job to be a stay-at-home mother, and though she sometimes envies the freedom of best friend Hannah, Lily wouldn’t trade it for anything.

But Lily’s world implodes when Hannah disappears with Ella one day, and Lily fears from the text message she receives that Hannah doesn’t intend to come back:

You don’t deserve her.

It’s true that Lily has been keeping secrets about her marriage from Hannah, ones she thought only she and her husband knew. Suddenly Lily realises that there are things she doesn’t know about Hannah too – and that by keeping her husband’s secrets, she might pay the ultimate sacrifice.

A rollercoaster ride of emotions, Save My Daughter will break your heart. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Kate Hewitt and Diane Chamberlain will be swept away by Sam Vickery’s utterly gorgeous novel.

My Review:

I don’t even know where to begin with Save My Daughter by Sam Vickery, but truth be told this story has left me a complete sobbing mess. This story is so raw and emotionally and will have you balling your eyes out.

Lily and Hannah have been best friends since they were eighteen years old. They shared everything together and were as close as two friends could ever be even as close as sisters. That is until secrets started to come in between them. Secrets strong enough to make Hannah do something so devastating and out of character. While out at a theme park with Lily, her husband Jon and their three children, William, Maisey, and baby Ella, Hannah made a split decision and walked away with Ella with the intent of keeping her as her own leaving fear and worry with Lily and Jon wondering if they will ever see their daughter again.

Save My Daughter is so much more than just a desperate act of one woman thinking she is doing the right thing in taking baby Ella. There is so much more within these pages that deal with such heavy and emotional topics such as infertility, dying, feelings of self worth, and desperation, but it also shows the other side of this too such as hope, resilience, family, forgiveness, and the things you do for the people you love. It is an emotional page turner that will completely destroy you and have you in tears crying your eyes out.

The story is told in first person through the voices of both Lily and Hannah and while I normally do not like first person, for this story it worked perfectly because I think you really needed to get into the minds of both women to understand why they do the things that they do. It also makes their stories more emotional and even though what Hannah does is wrong, through her story, we can find the compassion to understand the “why.” There is also a second storyline weaved in between that is utterly gut wrenching and definitely something that I could relate to on a person level. Of course, it is not something that I want to talk about and give away, but it was very emotional to me and really had such an affect on me that also had me crying.

I highly recommend reading this powerful moving story. Please just remember to have a box of tissues ready because I can promise you you will be needing them. Save My Daughter is a five star read!

 

Author Bio:
Sam Vickery is an English author who loves gritty, emotional stories that can make you sob. As a child, she was forever getting in trouble for being caught with her nose in a book, and these days are no different. She lives on the south coast of England with her husband, two children and a cat that thinks it’s a dog.
Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.