Blog Tour & Review: Bring Him Home by Nicole Trope @bookouture @nicoletrope

Posted March 31, 2021 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Mystery, Thriller / 0 Comments

Buy Links:
Book Description:

Where is he? Where’s my beloved child with his father’s blue eyes and a halo of golden curls? My little boy is out there on his own. Please keep him safe, I silently beg, please, please just keep him safe.

‘Your son is missing,’ they say, and life as I know it is over. ‘Where would he go?’ the police ask. ‘Where would he be?’ my daughter begs.

My heart races as images flash in my mind. The cabin we rent every autumn, surrounded by fiery red maple trees. Voices raised. Tears falling. A marriage falling apart. And worst of all my husband telling our child, Theo, to run.

The rest is a blank in my memory. If I close my eyes I can almost see it. A betrayal that has left me alone, in tatters, grieving for what we had.

It wasn’t meant to be like that. It should have been precious time as a family, with boardgames, walks in the mountain and pancakes for breakfast.

Instead my little one is has vanished. ‘They are looking for him,’ the nurse told me, ‘but the storm is slowing down the search.’

The police think Theo has the answers, that he knows what tore our family apart. But I have no idea where he is. No clue if he is safe. I won’t survive unless I bring him home. But if I do, and the truth comes out, will I survive that?

A completely gripping, beautifully written and totally heartbreaking page-turner, which examines what happens behind closed doors, and the secrets that can shatter a family. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Liane Moriarty will be totally addicted to this breathtaking novel.

My Review:

Bring Him Home is the second book I have read from author, Nicole Trope. I do have to say Trope writes some emotional tear jerker stories that are not always an easy read, but they are heartfelt and honest and definitely unputdownable.

When the police arrive, Cecilia is left holding the knife while her husband, Nick, lies bleeding on the floor next to her. Cecilia is unable to speak and fearing the worst, the police think she has stabbed her husband and carts the both of them off to the nearest hospital. Their nineteen year old daughter, Kaycee receives the call from the police letting her know to come to the hospital as soon as possible as her parents have had an accident, but there is no mention of her young austitic brother, Theo being found. What ensues is a race against time to find Theo while a brutal storm pelts down all around them. Does Theo hold the truth of what happened in the tiny cabin?

This story is so raw and so emotional. We don’t really know what happened in the cabin other than Cecilia holding a knife over her husband as he is bleeding. What we do know is the family is fractured. There are problems in the marriage and little by little the full story slowly gets revealed.

The story is told through multiple POV’s including that of 85 year old Rose, a long time resident who lives in a cabin in the woods. Each story weaves together where we finally get to see the bigger picture as we put all of the puzzle pieces together.

Trope did an excellent job with Theo portraying his autism and you can really feel for this small child and all that he is going through while trying to get help while being nonverbal. His characterization was just phenomenal especially how he connects with Rose given her own childhood and having an autistic brother, though at that time autism was really not a diagnosis that was used for someone with a disability.

I really enjoyed this tory and felt connected to all of the characters and all of the struggles they went through individually. There is such a strong theme in this story as well, that of hope. And if you love emotional page turners I would definitely recommend reading Bring Him Home. This is a definite five star read for me.

Author Bio:

Nicole Trope went to university to study Law but realised the error of her ways when she did very badly on her first law essay because, as her professor pointed out, ‘It’s not meant to be a story.’

She studied teaching instead and used her holidays to work on her writing career and complete a Masters’ degree. In between raising three children, working for her husband and renovating houses, she has published six novels. She lives in Sydney, Australia.

https://www.facebook.com/NicoleTrope/

https://twitter.com/nicoletrope

 

 

 

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.