Review: Sins of the Mother by August Norman @augustnormanau1 @crookedlanebks

Posted September 9, 2020 by sinfully in Mystery, Review, Thriller / 0 Comments

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Sins of the Mother by August Norman @augustnormanau1 @crookedlanebksSins of the Mother by August Norman
Series: Caitlin Bergman #2
Also in this series: Come and Get Me
Published by Crooked Lane Books on September 8, 2020
Genres: Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Books Forward
Also by this author: Come and Get Me
ASIN: B082H33T3N

AmazonGoodreads

August Norman returns with the second thrilling Caitlin Bergman novel, perfect for fans of Julia Keller, Tess Gerritsen, and Michael Koryta.

Caitlin went in search of her mother...but what she found may set the world on fire.

Caitlin Bergman's mother is dead. That's what the award-winning journalist has told everyone for the past forty years. Easier to lie than explain how Maya abandoned her only daughter before dropping off the map forever.

But when a rural sheriff invites Caitlin to the woods of coastal Oregon to identify her mother's remains, Caitlin drops everything to face the woman she's spent a lifetime hating. Unfortunately, the body--abandoned on the land of a reclusive cult, the Daughters of God--was left faceless. Instead, Caitlin finds the diary of a woman obsessed with the end of the world, one that hints the cult's spiritual leader knows the identity of Caitlin's real father. She's not the only one looking for clues in her mother's writing. Johnny Larsen, a violent white supremacist whose family runs the county, thinks the Daughters of God kidnapped his teen-aged daughter--and will do anything to get her back.

At the top of a hill, an army of women wait for the end of days. In the town below, the Larsens plot to purify their county. Caught in the middle, Caitlin must decide which is more important--learning the truth about her past, or saving Mama Maya's chosen daughters from the end of the world

Sins of the Mother is the second book in the Caitlin Bergman series by talented author August Norman. The first book, Come and Get Me, introduced a heroine full of sarcasm, witty dialogue, and lots and lots of charm. I was really hoping Sins of the Mother continued on with the same character development of Caitlin that I have come to love. I am thrilled to say Caitlin Bergman is all that and more and the newest release by Norman.

Caitlin receives the news that her biological mother, Maya, is dead and she is asked to travel to coastal Oregon to identify the remains. Kind of hard to do when the body is faceless and missing anything remotely identifiable. All that is left is a diary written by her mother. The investigative journalist side of Caitlin delves deep into the diary and boy does it tell a massive tale about a cult obsessed with the end of the world. Throw in Johnny Lasen, a white supremacist, determined to make the Daughters of God pay for taking his daughter and Caitlin soon finds herself stuck in the middle while trying to find the truth about herself.

I can’t even express just how much I love Caitlin Bergman. She throws herself into situations that would make most people run for the hills. Caitlin takes everything head on dangerous or not often branding her signature sarcasm along the way. She is a badass and one of my favorite heroines in a book. Although she does not let people close, she does have a soft spot for Lakshmi Anjale (a character and new friend from the first book). Lakshmi also makes an appearance in this story as well.

The story is really well written and hooks you right from the start. The story slowly builds up to a finale that will blow you away. I loved getting to know the background of the Daughters of God and I will definitely admit to being fascinated by cults and how easily a leader can brainwash people into believing a facade. Norman really captures the essence of cults and the dedication of its members. It is quite eerie and really makes you think how easily one can be beckoned to join the ranks. I love how the two stories about Caitlin’s mother and Johnny Larsen’s daughter converge into one central story and how Caitlin is in the center of it all literally fighting for her life every step of the way.

Sins of the Mother blends a heart pounding story ripped from the headlines with a mystery full of twists and turns that will leave your head spinning while gasping at the final reveal. If you have not started this series yet, you should probably go and get the first book and delve deep into Caitlin Bergman’s story. Another five star read from me!

About August Norman

Originally from central Indiana, thriller and mystery author August Norman has called Los Angeles home for two decades, writing for and/or appearing in movies, television, stage productions, web series, and even, commercial advertising. A lover and champion of crime fiction, August is an active member of the Mystery Writers of America, the International Thriller Writers, the Sisters in Crime (National/LA), and regularly attends the Santa Barbara Writer’s Conference.

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.