Blog Tour and Review: The Life She Left Behind by Nicole Trope @bookouture @nicoletrope

Posted July 3, 2020 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Psychological Suspense, Review / 0 Comments

When I wake up in the middle of the night, it’s not a sound that disturbs me. It’s a feeling. Silently, I creep to my daughter’s room, breathing a sigh of relief when I see her sleeping, her night-light twirling, butterfly shapes moving their pink wings. Quickly, I lock the door. I won’t let anything happen to my little girl.

You tell him everything. The husband you adore, the father of your child, your best friend.

He knows, just by looking at your sage-green eyes, when something is wrong. The two of you can communicate with a glance, or a touch of the hand.

Except what if you can’t?

What if your happy marriage has plastered over one huge lie? A lie you have even started to believe yourself, in order to survive?

What if you have a secret, something you have hidden from your beloved husband and your strawberry-scented baby girl, to keep them safe? What if the guilt has kept you up, night after night, for as long as you can remember?

What happens when suddenly, after twenty-eight years, that secret refuses to stay buried? What will you do now everyone you love, everything you cherish, is in harm’s way?

An emotional, thought-provoking and beautifully written novel which examines the pieces of ourselves we are afraid of, and the impossible decisions we make when we are desperate. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Kerry Fisher and Liane Moriarty will be moved by this heartbreaking tale.

My Review:

I have so many different emotions running through after reading The Life She Left Behind by Nicole Trope. Mostly, I feel anger and yet I also feel sadness for a family that has been put through so much and who have sacrificed so much just to feel normal. The Life She Left Behind is not an easy read by any means. There is both mental and physical abuse that may be hard for some to read through. But, the story is definitely a moving and heartbreaking story on learning how to survive and have a normal life with love and happiness.

Rachel and her husband Ben along with their young daughter Beth have just moved into their very first house in a new housing complex. But, what should be a happy and joyous moment is shattered when someone breaks into their new home leaving Rachel with memories of a childhood she wishes to forget. Is her childhood coming back to haunt her? Is her family safe? While asking herself these questions, Rachel knows she can’t rely on anyone, especially not her mother riddled with cancer. Rachel cannot put the burden on her mother. When push comes to shove will Rachel be able to save her family?

This story is going to trigger a lot of readers. I was even affected by it and at some points I was even raging. Mental and physical abuse is something I detest wholeheartedly. I have been hit before by a man and let’s just say he didn’t walk out unscathed. If this ever happened to me on the level of what happened to Rachel and her mother, Veronica….the person who ever did that to me would have a knife in their back by the end of the night. I do not play around. I will be in jail and wi\ould be well worth it.

Trope really keeps us in the dark throwing very few clues as to the real identity behind the gifts being left behind for Rachel and I must say it was crafted quite well and kept me guessing almost till the end. The story weaves between the past and the present and really paints a terrible picture of what life was like when Rachel was just a child and how hard it must have been and the decisions that her mother made when Rachel was only seven years old. It is absolutely heartbreaking.

I was glued to this story and honestly if this wasn’t an ARC e-book, I probably would have tossed it across the room a million times out of anger. Yes, the book is that good if it can illicit such a reaction from me.

The Life She Left Behind is a heartbreaking, emotionally charged story of one family going through something so terribly evil and yet at the same time so heartwarming to see how abuse doesn’t define you as a person it can only make you stronger. I highly recommend this book! A definite 5 stars from me!

Author Bio:

Nicole Trope went to university to study Law but realised the error of her ways when she did very badly on her first law essay because, as her professor pointed out, ‘It’s not meant to be a story.’

She studied teaching instead and used her holidays to work on her writing career and complete a Masters’ degree. In between raising three children, working for her husband and renovating houses, she has published six novels. She lives in Sydney, Australia.

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.