Blog Tour and Review: The Bride by Wendy Clarke @bookouture @WendyClarke99

Posted May 23, 2020 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Psychological Thriller / 0 Comments

Author: Wendy Clarke

Book: THE BRIDE   

Publication Day:  20/05/2020

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B0859CD6MZSocial

Apple: https://apple.co/2Tum0Vv

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2VBcCSE

Google: http://bit.ly/2Tif3rX

Description:

The moment Joanna told me she was engaged, I had this awful feeling that something was wrong.

We used to speak on the phone every day. Growing up I spent more time at her house than I did at my own. I’d always imagined what it would be like to see her get married, and now I didn’t even know her fiancé’s name.

She asked me to come and meet Mark and I intended to tell her to slow down. You can’t know someone for a month and be sure that you want to spend the rest of your lives together.

When I got to Joanna’s front door, only Mark was there. He was charming and gorgeous and nothing but nice to me, and I started to understand.

And then he told me that Joanna was missing.

The Bride is a twisty, unputdownable psychological thriller that will have you reading until late at night. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and anything by Lisa Jewell.

My Review:

The Bride by Wendy Clarke had me hooked right from the start! That opening prologue really sets the scene and keeps you guessing as to what happened and who it happened to. I just could not put this story down especially when the twists started coming and then even the twists had twists. I was mindblown at the turn of events and wondered how the story would end.

Alice Solomon is at a low point in her life. Her job has been made redundant and her fiance is walking out on her. Not knowing what to do, Alice jumps at the chance to visit her long time girlfriend, Joanna. Joanna is recently engaged and wants Alice’s approval before they get married. But, when Alice arrives, Joanna is missing according to her fiance, Mark. Where is Joanna? Did something sinister happen to her and is Mark somehow involved in her disappearance?

I wavered back and forth with my thoughts on Alice. Did I like her? Did I not? Was she really a reliable character? These are just some of the questions going through my head during the course of the story. Although, I can sympathize with what she is going through in her own relationship. But, that doesn’t necessarily mean I had to like her. I think she had her good points, but also a lot of bad ones as well. I definitely could relate to her claustrophobia though. The thought of dark closed in spaces really freak me out.

Wendy Clarke really did a fantastic job of keeping you guessing throughout the story and I definitely could not make heads or tails with all of the twists coming out of nowhere. Clarke just hit you with them without warning and quite a few times I was like “Holy Hell, I did not see that coming!” This is definitely a mindf*ck type of story line.

Wendy Clarke has put the “psychological” in thriller with her latest release, The Bride. Be stunned and awed by the many twists and turns this story takes. A definite recommended read for me.

 Author Bio:

Wendy Clarke started her career writing short fiction and serials for national women’s magazines. After having over three hundred short stories published, she progressed to writing novels. With a degree in psychology, and intrigued with how the human mind can affect behaviour, it was inevitable that she would eventually want to explore her darker side.

In her previous life, Wendy has published three collections of short stories and has been a short story judge for the Chiltern Writers Group, Nottingham Writers Group and The Society of Women Writers and journalists.

Wendy lives with her husband, cat and step-dog in Sussex and when not writing is usually dancing, singing or watching any programme that involves food

 

Author Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WendyClarkeAuthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WendyClarke99

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.