Review: Flowers for the Dead by C.K. Williams

Posted May 22, 2020 by sinfully in Review, Thriller / 0 Comments

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Flowers for the Dead by C.K. WilliamsFlowers for the Dead by C.K. Williams
Published by One More Chapter on March 30, 2020
Genres: Thriller
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Source: Netgalley
ASIN: B07P24FTG3

AmazonGoodreads

I am the reason girls are told not to trust strangers. I am their cautionary tale.
Nineteen years ago Linn Wilson was attacked. Seventeen-years-old and home alone, she’d been waiting for her friends to arrive when she heard the doorbell ring. But when she opened the door, Linn let in her worst nightmare. The culprit was never found.

It was someone I knew. I am going to find out who did this to me.

Now, Linn is determined to get to the bottom of the night that changed her life forever. Returning to the village where she grew up, she knows that someone must know something. The claustrophobia and isolation of small town living means secrets won’t remain secrets for long…

A wonderfully tense and gripping suspense thriller that will have you hooked! Perfect for fans of D.K Hood’s Detective Kane and Alton series and Sheryl Browne.

Nineteen years ago, Linn Wilson was attacked in her own home. Her attacker was never found and Linn suffered for years never getting any closure. Every time the doorbell rang it brought her back to that night leaving her with panic attacks and crippling anxiety. Nothing could get through to her, not even her childhood friend and husband, Oliver. Linn needs to find out what happened all of those years ago and the only way to find out the truth was to move back into her old childhood home. But, now that she is back will she ever be able to find out the truth or is Linn putting herself in danger once again.

This story had a really good premise and had a lot of parts that scared me especially when it came to the doorbell ringing. Every time I read “ding ding ding,” I wanted to jump out of my seat. Needless to say, I probably should not have read this story at night. Every time I passed a window in my house I imagined someone staring through my window. I actually had to put this book down and read it in the light of day. Much safer and less scarier for me!

Although I thought the story line was good I found it to be a bit disjointed for me and I never really connected with any of the characters. Sure, I felt bad for Linn especially with what she had gone through, but I also found her pretty courageous for moving into her childhood home all alone in the middle of practically nowhere. But, I still wouldn’t say I necessarily liked her. Then, there is Graham, the Detective Inspector, along with her other childhood friends back in the town. I think we really just scratched the surface with all of the characters.

I do have to say though the suspense was eating me up inside and while I had my own ideas of who was behind it all (once again, I was wrong!), the way it all tied together was pretty shocking. So the story definitely gets an A+ on the suspense/thriller factor.

All in all, Flowers for the Dead was an okay read for me. It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t for me.

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.