Blog Tour and Review: A Dog’s Hope by Casey Wilson @CaseyWilsonAuth @bookouture

Posted March 11, 2020 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Contemporary Fiction, Review / 0 Comments

Title:  A Dog’s Hope

Publication Day: March 6th  2020

 Author:   Casey Wilson  

Buy  Links:       

Amazon: https://geni.us/B083XYXMLKSocial

Apple: https://apple.co/2u41lyH

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2FYLp3f

Google: http://bit.ly/2RweWa6

 

Description:

There are some things in life that only a dog can teach you.

A poignant, heart-wrenching, but ultimately uplifting novel about the unbreakable bond between a boy and his dog. Perfect for fans of A Dog’s PurposeThe Art of Racing in the Rain and Marley and Me.

In the farming town of Riverside in Washington, Toby Fuller is feeling more alone than ever. Nothing Toby did was ever good enough for his father, but he never expected his father to leave, to abandon him and his mother forever. He loses hope, until a scruffy golden retriever called Buddy follows him home from school.

Though he’s struggling to walk, Buddy matches Toby step for step, never taking his eyes off him, as if Toby is all he needs in the world. And from that day on Buddy never leaves Toby’s side.

Buddy shows Toby a loyalty that he has never known. But then disaster strikes and Toby’s life is changed forever. Will Buddy be able to give Toby the strength he needs to carry on?

A tale of how unconditional love can bound into your life when you least expect it, giving you hope in the darkest of times.

My Review:

My mother has always told me, “you will know the right dog when you see him.” I always blew it off because to me that was every dog I ever saw! I mean who couldn’t love any dog, right? I never realized how much my mom’s statement was true until we went to an animal rescue looking to adopt a new dog after losing my little buddy from cancer. I saw quite a few dogs that day and while they were all cute and lovable, this one dog caught my attention, a little five pound Chihuahua mix with an under bite hopping around like a rabbit trying to kiss me on the lips as soon as I met him. You know those cartoons where the cartoon character meets the love of his life and his eyes bug out of his head a mile long and look like hearts, yup, that was me when I met my little Frankie.

I guess this leads me to the point in A Dog’s Hope when Buddy meets Toby for the first time. Buddy automatically knew he found his person. Toby needs Buddy in ways even Toby does not understand yet. Toby has anger issues and often doesn’t know how to control them. His family life isn’t the best and while he loves his mother, his relationship with his military father is strained. Buddy gives Toby the comfort and understanding he needs. Buddy is incredibly loyal and follows Toby everywhere, even to school where he waits for him until the end of the school day. The opening scene with Buddy waiting for Toby just breaks my heart. It really shows such a strong bond between dog and owner. You never really think about how much a dog becomes attached to his owner and you can really see that in this story.

A Dog’s Hope is told in the present through the eyes of the dog, Buddy, and the past through the eyes of Toby. Casey Wilson has written an emotionally heartbreaking story that encompasses so much between its short pages. There are real life issues such as anger, depression, divorce, PTSD, tragedy and on the other side there is hope, picking yourself up when you are at your lowest and at the center of it all is the unconditional love between a boy and his dog.

If you are an animal lover like me, I urge you to pick up this book. Although, I will say, make sure you have tissues handy because A Dog’s Purpose will make you shed many tears and when finishing the last page, it will make you hug and cuddle your dog even harder.

Author Bio:

Casey Wilson is the author of A Dog’s Hope, published with Bookouture.

Born and raised in the United States in Nevada, she is the owner of a gorgeous golden retriever, who may or may not have inspired the dogs in her novels.

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CaseyWilsonAuthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CaseyWilsonAuth

 

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.