Blog Tour and Review: The Stranger’s Wife by Anna-Lou Weatherley @bookouture @annaloulondon

Posted January 17, 2020 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Psychological Thriller, Thriller / 0 Comments

Title: The Stranger’s Wife
Publication Day: 16/01/2020
Author: ANNA LOU WEATHERLEY

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B082VLSD3FSocial
Apple Books: https://apple.co/2PC55j6
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2PYwGKl
Googleplay: http://bit.ly/2S4p7EB

Description:

Beth and Cath are leaving their husbands.

This is a story about two very different women.

One is wealthy and having an affair with a man who gives her the kind of love that her cold, detached husband does not.

One is living hand to mouth, suffering at the hands of a violent partner who would rather see her dead than leave him.

You may think you know these women already and how their lives will unfold.

Beth will live happily ever after with her little girl and her soulmate.

Cath will go back to her abusive husband.

And these two women will never cross paths.

But you will be wrong.

On the 3.15pm train from London to Bristol, Beth and Cath are about to meet and discover they share one shocking thing in common.

A clever, engrossing and absolutely unputdownable page-turner of a read about what really lies beneath the surface of a marriage. Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will be hooked on The Stranger’s Wife.

My Review:

The Stranger’s Wife by Anna-Lou Weatherley is the third book in the Detective Dan Riley series. Even though this is part of a series, it can still be read as a standalone. To be honest, I never even knew it was part of a series until AFTER finishing the book. Now, I am going to have to pick up the first two books as this story was AMAZING!

I do admit the synopsis of the book really doesn’t say much and kind of leaves you in the dark for the most part. Needless to say, I was rather intrigued and had to dip my little fingers into this story. Weatherly takes a police procedural and spins it more into a psychological thriller where it’s not ALL about the policing. Normally, with a story like this, Dan Riley would have taken center stage as he investigates a crime, but here he shares the spotlight with Beth Lawler and Catherine “Cath” Patterson.

Beth and Cath are two very different women and yet share one thing in common. They are both in relationships with men that they wish to get out of. Beth is the wife of a very wealthy and influential man, but there is no love lost in their marriage and Beth has finally had enough and wants to leave. Cath has been with her boyfriend since they were teenagers, but he is extremely violent and she is too scared to leave. What happens on the 3:15pm train from London to Bristol changes the lives of both women.

Weatherley creates a story that will instantly have you hooked! I knew once I started reading the first chapter, I was not going to be able to put this book down. Yes, I stayed up way later than usual just so I could finish. I love when a story just grabs you right from the beginning and doesn’t let go right up until the very end. I had so many questions needing answers while I tried to figure out what was going on and how these two women tie in together.

Beth and Cath are fleshed out three dimensional characters and while their backgrounds might be totally different, they share a lot of the same things in common, such as, vulnerability, a loveless relationship, heartache and sadness. Weatherley really hits you with all of the feels for these two women and makes you feel like they need to be protected, but don’t get it wrong even though they have both suffered through trauma and loss, Both Beth and Cath are stronger in ways they never thought possible. I really loved Dan Riley as well and he is going through his own personal turmoil and since the death of his wife is coming to terms with a new relationship and a new baby on the way. He is great at his job and believes in justice no matter if the crime is right or wrong. Riley really shows what a standup guy he is in both his personal and professional life.

There are some trigger warnings to be aware of such as domestic abuse both physically and mentally and the loss of a child. While most of the physical domestic violence is done off scene it is still very hard to read through.

The Stranger’s Wife is emotionally gripping, intricately layered, and seriously twisted. Quite frankly, it packs an emotional punch that will leave you completely stunned. I can highly recommend this book as it is a fantastic read!

Author Bio:

Anna-Lou began her career as a dancer but a moped accident in Ibiza put paid to those aspirations and so she went back to her first and one true love – writing! She re-trained as a journalist, specialising mainly in women’s interest and celebrity, becoming the Editor of J-17 and Smash Hits as well as writing for a host of women’s magazines.

Anna-Lou has written three Adult Fiction titles – Vengeful Wives and Wicked Wives, both published by Avon in the UK and Bookouture in the US and Canada and Pleasure Island published by Bookouture.

To find out more about Anna’s novels, go to https://www.facebook.com/annalouweatherleyauthor/ or follow https://twitter.com/annaloulondon on Twitter.

 

 

Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.