Blog Tour and Review: The Mother I Could Have Been by Kerry Fisher @KerryFSwayne @bookouture

Posted November 22, 2019 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Fiction, Review, Women's Fiction / 0 Comments

Why would you walk away from the one person you can’t live without?

As a child, Vicky Hall never had the sort of family she wanted. The least important person in her new step-family, ignored by her mother in favour of her two younger half-siblings, Vicky was always an afterthought. Sitting alone at her graduation ceremony at the age of twenty-one, she vows to create her own family and her own life, one which is full of the love and attention she has always craved.

When Vicky meets William and falls pregnant in Greece that summer, it isn’t planned. But the two of them believe they can make it work, showering their child with the love which they believe should be enough.

But when her son Theo is two, Vicky leaves him in the care of her mother-in-law, walks out of her front door and drives to a hotel where she takes a room for the night. She doesn’t return.

It’s unthinkable.

What kind of mother does that?

The kind who is hiding a story you can never imagine.

The Mother I Could Have Been is a heartbreaking story of impossible decisions and second chances, from the bestselling author of The Silent Wife and The Woman I Was Before. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

 

Purchase Link: Amazon

My Review:

Kerry Fisher never stops amazing me. I first fell in love with Fisher’s writing style with her previous release, The Woman I was Before, and the gift she has of pulling you into a deep emotional story that will pull on your heartstrings. It is such a tall order when a synopsis boasts a story perfect for fans by such well known authors as Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain and I must say Kerry Fisher really lives up to the hype set forth in the synopsis. Fisher writes with such raw emotion and realism that will leave you in tears. Yes, I did cry because The Mother I Could Have Been is such a tender, thought provoking and emotional look into family and life in general and what it means to be a mother.

Vicki Hall always felt like an outsider, even within her own family. Her mother is remarried with two new children and Vicki feels rather left out and unnoticed. Vicki thinks she would be better off on her own and sets out to make a life and family of her own. But, when she thinks she finally found her happily-ever-after, Vicki is in for an awakening when the same fears slowly crop up leaving her to abandon her two year old son, Theo, into the care of his father and mother-in-law. Will Vicki ever find her way back to her son?

I am not sure I can even begin to express how emotional and heartbreaking this story is. I am not a mother, but I do have a mother whom I am very close to and just the thought of ever leaving and losing touch is just devastating to me. While I can understand Vicki’s reasoning behind doing what she did, I don’t think she ever really thought things through. In a way, I guess she was young and naive and thought she was doing the right thing. While I may not have liked the “younger” Vicki or the decisions she made, Vicki did redeem herself as she got older and “wiser.” Vicki became a totally different person and it was so easy to see the changes she was going through as she made peace within herself for the actions in her past.

This story just grips you right from the start. I had a really hard time putting it down and found myself reading well into the night in part wanting to strangle Vicki, cry for her, or rejoice when she finally started coming into her own. I think in some ways readers can relate to something in this story as I think most of us have regrets in our past or even wondered if we could have done things differently. It really is an eye opener when a story can make you think about your own family dynamics.

The Mother I could Have Been is a heartfelt and honest look into families and what it means to be a mother with flaws and all. This is a definite five star read for me and if I could give it more stars I would! If you have not read anything by Kerry Fisher yet, come over here so I can slap you because you are truly missing out on a fantastic and beyond talented author.

Author Bio:
Kerry Fisher is the bestselling author of five novels, including The Silent Wife and The Secret Child. She was born in Peterborough, studied French and Italian at the University of Bath and spent several years living in Spain, Italy and Corsica. After returning to England to work as a journalist, she eventually abandoned real life stories for the secrets of fictional families. She now lives in Surrey with her husband, two teenage children and a naughty Lab/Schnauzer called Poppy.
Please follow and like us:
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.