Blog Tour and Review: No Time to Say Goodbye by Kate Hewitt @bookouture @katehewitt1

Posted September 29, 2019 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Contemporary Fiction, Review / 0 Comments

Purchase on Amazon: 

Book Description:

It hit me, the reality of it, in a way it hadn’t before like a sledgehammer straight to the chest. Laura was gone. She was never coming back. I’d never see her again; she’d never hum in the kitchen, she’d never pull Ruby onto her lap and tickle her tummy as she buried her face in the sweet curve of our daughter’s shoulder.

Nathan West loved his wife Laura with all his heart. But now she’s gone, taken from him in a seemingly random act of violence. Laura was the glue that held their family together. And for Nathan, life without her feels almost meaningless.

As he tries to find hope in the darkness, his three young daughters express their grief in different and challenging ways – with one set on a path of self-destruction that could devastate their family all over again. Desperate to understand his own heartbreak better, he reaches out to others who had known Laura. Including her new friend Maria, whose light and warmth are exactly what their grieving family needs, and who is soon helping out and providing emotional support for them all.

But the picture Maria paints of Laura is unfamiliar to Nathan – of a wife who felt ignored, a mother who felt she couldn’t do enough – and he struggles to reconcile it with his own memories of the woman he loved. Is it possible he didn’t know his wife after all? And can he trust Maria? He can’t escape the feeling that she’s keeping something from him.

Maria is hiding a secret with the power to rock Nathan’s family to its core. Because it is about what happened the day that Laura died…

An insightful and powerful novel guaranteed to break your heart, about how the unthinkable can sometimes help us see the world in a powerful new way. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain, and Susan Lewis.

My Review:

Kate Hewitt never stops amazing me with each new book release. I am such a huge fan and at this point, I don’t even need to read a synopsis of a book as long as it has Kate Hewitt’s name on it I am going to NEED to read it. Hewitt has such a way of immersing her readers in her signature style of emotionally heartbreaking and tearjerker storylines. With her newest release, No Time to Say Goodbye, Hewitt has really upped the game and the tears with a story that will completely break your heart.

A theme that stands out from this storyline is how do you survive the loss of a loved one? How do you survive grief? I think these are two important questions we have all asked ourselves with the death of a loved one.

The first chapter of this story really pulls you right in immediately with its raw emotion, vulnerability and realism. Nathan West’s wife, Laura is killed in what seems like a random act of violence. With three daughters left without their mother, Nathan is left to pick up the pieces and try to hold his family together while they each go through their own form of grief. Nathan is also struggling with the knowledge that his wife was keeping secrets from him, namely that she was volunteering at a refugee center. Did Laura tell him and he just didn’t pay attention or did she hide it from him knowing he would never understand her need to help?

Searching for answers Nathan seeks out Maria, a Bosnian refugee with her own tragic past who also volunteers at the refugee center and was friends with Laura. As Nathan, his three daughters and Maria’s lives become entwined the healing process slowly starts to begin, but is Maria hiding a secret? A secret powerful enough to destroy Nathan’s fragile family? What really happened the day Laura was killed and an even better question is why?

Kate Hewitt is one of the greatest storytellers right along with some of the biggest names in the industry such as Jodi Picoult and even Nicholas Sparks. Her stories are so powerful and deep often times tugging at your heart and make you cry. No Time to Say Goodbye is definitely another top read of 2019. At this point Kate Hewitt is probably always going to be on one of my yearly top of the reading list. Hewitt is definitely a force in the writing community. If you haven;t figured it out by now, YEs this is a definite five star read for me and one I hope every reader will want to pick up a copy and immerse yourself in a truly remarkable story.

Author Bio:

Kate Hewitt is the bestselling author of many novels of women’s fiction, including the Hartley-by-the-Sea series set in the Lake District, the Willoughby Close series set in the Cotswolds, and Tales From Goswell written as Katharine Swartz. Her novel A Mother’s Goodbye has been called ‘unputdownable’ and ‘the most emotional book I have ever read’ by readers. Not My Daughter and her latest novel, No Time to Say Goodbye are both available to buy now.

An American ex-pat, she lives in a small market town in Wales with her husband and five young(ish) children, along with their two Golden Retrievers. Join her newsletter for monthly updates and giveaways at http://www.kate-hewitt.com, or be part of her Facebook groups Kate’s Reads.

@katehewitt1

 

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.