Review: The Other Mrs. Miller by Allison Dickson

Posted July 13, 2019 by sinfully in Review, Thriller / 0 Comments

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Other Mrs. Miller by Allison DicksonThe Other Mrs. Miller by Allison Dickson
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons on July 16, 2019
Genres: Thriller, Domestic Thriller
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
ASIN: B07JLRM5KJ

AmazonGoodreads

In this unputdownable domestic suspense debut, a lonely suburban housewife finds her life entangled with the family that moves in across the street at the same time that she becomes convinced someone is watching her--perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and The Last Mrs. Parrish.

Once a darling of Chicago's social scene, Phoebe Miller fears she's become irrelevant and cliché: just another miserably unfulfilled housewife who drowns her sorrows in Chardonnay and ice cream and barely leaves her house. Maybe it's her dark thoughts and fertile imagination that lead her to believe the worst about everything she spies going on in the exclusive suburban cul de sac she calls home. But surely that rusty blue sedan that keeps idling by her driveway is a sign that she's being watched. And that new family that just moved in across the street--Dr. Ron Napier, his vivacious wife, Vicki, and their handsome college-bound son, Jake--can't be as perfect as they appear. Especially not with the bruises on Vicki's arms and the fear in Jake's eyes.

When a chance introduction to the exuberant Vicki--and a forbidden encounter with Jake--draws her out of her shell and deeper into the Napiers' orbit, Phoebe's life finally gets the infusion of excitement she's been missing. But when anonymous threatening notes begin landing on her doorstep, she'll have to ask herself just how well anyone can truly know their neighbors...and how close to home unforeseen danger sometimes lies.

Phoebe Miller is a bored housewife and is no longer content in her marriage to her husband Wyatt. After a scandal revolving around her father, Phoebe finds herself a shut in drinking her day away to pass the time. This is when she starts noticing a blue sedan parked in the neighborhood seemingly watching her. Around the same time a new family moves into their wealthy neighborhood. The Napiers are not all they seem to be and with Phoebe’s new found friendship with Vicki Napier and her son Jake, things start slowly turning around for Phoebe. But, is everything as it seems or do the Napier’s have something to hide?

The Other Mrs. Miller is written in two parts and for the most part the first half is a slow burn buildup to part two. While I loved part one of the story, part two sort of lost the momentum for me and bordered more on the unbelievable. To explain a little further, I was sucked in to the first part as it delved slowly into Phoebe’s life and marriage as well as the new neighbors next door. Phoebe has a bit of a stalker which slowly reveals throughout the course of part one. Things take a turn in part two and I must say this particular plot point is not done enough in most books I read and it can be a huge hit or miss with most readers. I wouldn;t say I was disappointed per say, but I can see how it advances the story. Now, when it comes to part two of the story the believability factor went down a few notches for me. I still enjoyed the story for the most part and the author, Allison Dickson really knows how to draw you in with her words and the story flows pretty consistently throughout.

Phoebe Miller is the type of character you will either like or dislike. While I felt sorry for her, I never really liked her. I found her to be quite selfish at times especially with her husband. But, on the other hand I can also see why she acts the way she does, especially when it comes to her father and her husband’s need to have children. Phoebe just wallows away in her own misery drinking and eating away at her pain until the new neighbors move in. While we still see the old Phoebe for the most part we also see how she is trying to do better while making a lot of mistakes along the way.

The Other Mrs. Miller is a domestic thriller that will pull you in slowly with each major reveal and then the hits start coming which will leave you speechless. This is definitely an unexpected story.

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.