Review: Bitter Sweet Hell by Alex Grayson @AlexGrayson10

Posted June 11, 2019 by sinfully in Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance, Suspense, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

Review: Bitter Sweet Hell by Alex Grayson @AlexGrayson10Bitter Sweet Hell by Alex Grayson
Series: Hell Night #2
Also in this series: Trouble in Hell
Published by Independently Published on January 9, 2019
Genres: Fiction, Dark Romance, Suspense
Pages: 318
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Also by this author: Trouble in Hell
ISBN: 9781791994037


The Hell Night Series continues with JW's story!As the Sheriff of Malus, Texas, JW takes his oath to protect its citizens very seriously. Born from an ugly past, he swears no child, woman, or man will ever endure what he and his brothers have. As he seeks retribution of the ones who have wronged him, his past and his present finally collide. Secrets are laid open. Ones that are so heinous, they'll rock the very foundation of JW's life.When Eden blazes into town, hot with her own threatening troubles baring down on her, JW steps in as her protector. It's not only his duty, but a need he can't ignore. The chemistry between the two is instant and all too tempting.Giving in was easy, but the consequences were high.JW never knew the disturbing destruction that would rain down on Malus by getting involved with the red-headed gypsy. Danger lurks just around the corner--it's dark, terrifying, and malicious.JW is bitter because of his gruesome past. Eden is sweet despite hers. Together, will they create a beautiful future, or will it all end in bitter sweet hell?DISCLAIMER: Intended for readers 18 years and older due to mature content, abusive situations, and harsh language. May contain triggers for some readers. Please read with caution.

Bitter Sweet Hell by Alex Grayson is the second book in the Hell Night series and like the first book in the series, Grayson brings her signature brand of darkness and weaves a riveting story that will leave you on the edge of your seat until the final conclusion.

JW, Malus’ sheriff, pulls over a speeding car on the side of the road. Eden is running for her life trying to get as far as she can from an ex-boyfriend out to do her harm. JW takes one look at Eden and knows he has to help her. This is what JW and his brothers do. They help women and children from the evils of the world. The attraction between them is instantaneous and JW will do anything to ensure that Eden stays alive, but with a dangerous predator hot on her heels, neither JW or Eden are prepared for the devastation that will ensue.

Wow! I have to say I thought the first book in the series was rather dark, but Grayson took it to another level in Bitter Sweet Hell. It is gritty, sinister, and quite chilling. The story gets really dark and there are a couple of times where I was completely in utter shock. This is no easy read by any means and there are a lot of flashbacks regarding Hell Night where children were sexually abused including JW and his brothers. There is a particularly violent scene that happens off the pages that is very very disturbing and really left me shocked. No one is safe in Malus this time around.

JW and Eden have this instant connection, but JW knows outsiders are not welcomed in Malus, especially not with how JW and his brothers rule the town. No one can ever find out the secrets of Malus and having an outsider in their ranks put all of the residents in jeopardy. JW knows nothing can really ever happen in the long term between him and Eden, but Eden slowly creeps into his heart and mind which is dangerous enough in itself. I really loved watching Eden and JW growing closer, their passion just burned through the pages. What I really enjoyed the most was how easy it was for them to talk to one another and open up to each other so easily.

We also learn a little more about Emo and what he goes through and how he tortures himself because of the past. I have to say I am REALLY looking forward to his story the most. But, next up we have Judge’s story. Judge is definitely the ladies man of the brothers so it will be interesting to see who will be the one to capture his heart and turn him into a one woman man (I hope!).

Although Bitter Sweet Hell can be read as a standalone, I would highly suggest starting out with the first book in the series, Trouble in Hell as all of the characters are back in the second installment and you might be a little confused with some of the backstory if you start with the second book. I highly recommend both books as Alex Grayson is a fantastic writer and really spins some of the darkest books I have ever read.

About Alex Grayson

Alex Grayson is the bestselling author of heart pounding, emotionally gripping contemporary romance including the Jaded Series, the Consumed Series, and two standalone novels. Her passion for books was reignited by a gift from her sister-in-law. After spending several years as a devoted reader and blogger, Alex decided to write and independently publish her first novel in 2014 (an endeavor that took a little longer than expected). The rest, as they say, is history.

Originally a southern girl, Alex now lives in Ohio with her husband, two children, two cats and dog. She loves the color blue, homemade lasagna, casually browsing real estate, and interacting with her readers. Visit her website,, or find her on social media!

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.