Blog Tour and Review: Lost Daughter by Ali Mercer @AlisonLMercer @bookouture

Posted May 16, 2019 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Review, Women's Fiction / 0 Comments

Title: Lost Daughter

Publication Day: 14/05/2019

Author: Ali Mercer

Buy Links:
Amazon: https://geni.us/B07NPX3XYMSocial
Apple Books: https://apple.co/2UZwwmU
Kobo: https://bit.ly/2I9ZDlT
Googleplay: http://ow.ly/MG3V30nI3hJ

Description:

If you think photos aren’t important… wait until they’re all you have left of your child.

Your life isn’t perfect, but you’re still happy. Your husband has stuck by you and he’s a good dad. Your daughter Becca makes your heart explode with love. And then, in the time it takes to say ‘bad mother’, there’s no longer a place for you in your own family. Your right to see your child has disappeared.

Life goes on in your house – family dinners, missing socks and evening baths – but you aren’t there anymore. Becca may be tucked up in bed in Rose Cottage, but she is as lost to you as if she had been snatched from under your nose.

Everyone knows you deserve this, for what you did. Except you’re starting to realise that things maybe aren’t how you thought they were, and your husband isn’t who you thought he was either. That the truths you’ve been so diligently punishing yourself for are built on sand, and the daughter you have lost has been unfairly taken from you. Wouldn’t that be more than any mother could bear?

A heart-wrenchingly emotional drama for fans of Lisa Wingate, Jill Childs and Jodi Picoult.

My Review:

Lost Daughter is the first book I have ever read by Ali Mercer and and I found the story to be quite captivating right from the start. Mercer weaves the past and the present so skillfully as we delve deeper into Rachel Steele’s life. In the present she is living in a ramshackle apartment after being forced out of her daughter’s life due to an incident a year ago. Only getting to see her daughter once a week is hard for her as a mother knowing she is not always there for her teenage daughter, Becca.

Rachel is now in a new job where she meets Leona. Leona places a flyer up for a support group for mothers who have lost their children in some way and it is here that she meets Viv. Friendships and bonds form between Rachel, Leona and Viv as they all share a heartbreaking story regarding their children. They share in their grief especially when they are at their lowest, but the group also symbolizes a new growth where they each come to accept what happened and learn how to deal with their issues. I really loved the growth aspect of the story and how the group helped Rachel come to terms with what happened and in turn helps her try to put her life back together again including her fragile relationship with her daughter.

Lost Daughter is at times a heartbreaking story and yet at the same time also uplifting especially when it comes to the journey that Rachel makes in order to get her life on the right path. I really enjoyed the friendship between the three women and how they lean on each other when things get tough. It did take me a little while to warm up to Rachel as their were a lot of questions running through my mind especially since her story is told piece by piece, but I could definitely feel her pain and feel how sorry she felt for herself. Viv, on the other hand, really was a standout character for me and I could feel her heartache and regrets over her own son.

Lost Daughter is a compelling and captivating story that I highly enjoyed and would highly recommend if you love an engrossing story that will tug on your heartstrings.

Author Bio:

Ali decided she wanted to be a writer early on and wrote her first novel when she was at primary school. She did an English degree and spent her early twenties working in various jobs in journalism, including as a reporter for the show business newspaper The Stage. She started writing fiction in earnest after getting married, moving out of London to the Oxfordshire market town of Abingdon and starting a family. She has two children, a daughter and a son who is autistic and was diagnosed when he was four years old.
Ali is fascinated by families, their myths and secrets, and the forces that hold them together, split them up and (sometimes) bring them back together again. She always travels with tissues and a book and has been known to cry over a good story, but is also a big fan of the hopeful ending.

Author Social Media Links:

For updates and pictures, follow Ali on Twitter (@AlisonLMercer) or Instagram (@alimercerwriter), or on her Facebook page (AliMercerwriter)

 

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.