Blog Tour and Review: The Woman I Was Before by Kerry Fisher @KerryFSwayne @bookouture

Posted March 23, 2019 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Contemporary Fiction, Mystery, Review, Women's Fiction / 0 Comments

The Woman I Was Before by Kerry Fisher

 

Buy Links: 

 

A new home can be a happy ending. Or a fresh start. Or a hiding place…

Of all the emotions single mother Kate Jones feels as she walks into her brand new house on Parkview Road, hope is the most unexpected. She has changed her name and her daughter’s, and moved across the country to escape the single mistake that destroyed their lives.

Kate isn’t the only woman on the street starting afresh. Warm, whirlwind Gisela with her busy life and confident children, and sharp, composed Sally, with her spontaneous marriage and high-flying career, are the first new friends Kate has allowed herself in years. While she can’t help but envy their seemingly perfect lives, their friendship might help her leave her guilt behind.

Until one day, everything changes. Kate is called to the scene of a devastating car accident, the consequences of which will test everything the women thought they knew about each other, and themselves.

Can Kate stop her own secrets from unravelling, or was her hope for a new life in vain?

From the bestselling author of The Silent WifeThe Woman I Was Before is a book about the things we hide from those closest to us – and the terrible consequences that keeping those secrets can have. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

My Review:

Is the grass always greener on the other side? This is one of the questions that comes up quite often for me while reading The Woman I Was Before. Kate, Giselle, and Sally all move into the same subdivision on Parkview Road along with their families. Kate is aloof, but no one knows about the secrets she is carrying. Giselle seems to have the perfect family, hosts elaborate parties and seems to have it all together. Sally and her husband seem to not have a care in the world and are child free. While navigating their new found friendships, social media, and their families, nothing could have prepared them for the truth. Can their friendship survive through all the chaos especially after a devastating accident brings all of their secrets to light?

Kerry Fisher writes with such realism and brings forth an emotionally gripping story of three women who seem to have their lives put together, but when you look closely enough and really get into their lives you can slowly start to see what is really going on beneath the surface. Bonds form among the women as they face day to day challenges while putting on a brave face. With issues many women face, Fisher shows what true family life is like with all the harsh realities, doubts, victories, and emotional breakthroughs.

Told through the eyes of Kate, Giselle and Sally each alternating chapter brings us closer to each of these women. I felt myself bonding with each of them and found myself engrossed in each of their stories. Kate was a bit harder to figure out especially when it came to her secret. When the truth is finally revealed I was really shocked as I never would have thought of that. I could empathize with each of the women as they are all going through their own trials, but through it all I can see how each of the women grows as the story progresses.

The Woman I Was Before is such an easy read that grabs you right from the first page and I really had a hard time putting this down as I connected with Kate, Giselle and Sally pretty early on in the story. They are such well developed, three dimensional characters that I think anyone can and will sympathize with and maybe even find something relatable. Their stories really draw you right in and made me think of how we can judge someone, like a neighbor, based on what we see from the outside. Truly an eye opening read and one I can highly recommend.

About the author
Kerry Fisher is the bestselling author of five novels, including The Silent Wife and The Secret Child. She was born in Peterborough, studied French and Italian at the University of Bath and spent several years living in Spain, Italy and Corsica. After returning to England to work as a journalist, she eventually abandoned real life stories for the secrets of fictional families. She now lives in Surrey with her husband, two teenage children and a naughty Lab/Schnauzer called Poppy.
 

 

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.