Blog Tour and Review: A Body in the Lakes by Graham Smith @GrahamSmith1972 @bookouture

Posted March 17, 2019 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Crime Thriller, Mystery, Review, Thriller / 1 Comment

Title: A Body in the Lakes

Author: Graham Smith

Publication Day: March 15th 2019

Buy Links :

https://geni.us/B07M9BG4V3Social

 

Description:

The woman’s limbs were so thin; the skin on her arms as translucent as tracing paper. Around her neck lay a faint string of purple bruises. In one so frail, darker, angrier marks might be expected but Beth knew the bruising would have stopped the moment her heart stopped beating.

When a walker finds the body of a woman by the shores of Lake Ullswater, the police are put on high alert. Felicia Evans was known to be a tough character, but who would have strangled her?

Detective Beth Young quickly spots the links to three cold cases. Three women strangled and discarded in the stunning, wild hills of the Lake District.

As Beth begins tracking down witnesses, the team receives an anonymous letter claiming the charming mayor of Carlisle is behind the murders. There’s pressure from the top to clear his name. But Beth is determined to find the truth no matter whose feathers she ruffles in the process.

Beth knows the clock is ticking. The killer is hunting again. And it’s down to her to find who’s responsible before another woman becomes his prey…

A gripping edge-of-your-seat thriller from bestselling author Graham Smith, perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and J.R. Ellis. 

My Review:

A Body in the Lakes is the second book in the Detective Beth Young series by Graham Smith Beth is the newest member of the Force Major Investigation Team and once again she is a force to be reckoned with and this second installment to the series shows why she is such a great asset to the team.

When a naked elderly woman is found dumped in the lake Ullswater area, it is up to Beth and the team to find the killer responsible, but when Beth makes the connection to three other women killed in much the same way, the investigation takes a sinister turn. When two pieces of evidence implicates the mayor of Carlisle, Beth is determined to nail him to the wall. Is the mayor guilty or is their another killer in their midst with another woman already in his sights?

Beth is such an interesting character. We already know she has a past and she is looking for the man responsible for the scar on her face while simultaneously searching for a killer. While in the first book in the series, The Silent Dead, I found Beth held herself back quite often with the other officers in the FMIT, but in A Body in the Lakes, I feel she finally found her voice and was not afraid to voice her opinions regardless fi anyone liked them or not. Beth is a go getter and a problem solver. She is very analytical often creating spreadsheets of all the facts in order to find a common denominator. I also find that Beth is accepted more as a team member this time around as well and shares more of a comradery with the others in her team. While they might not be total friends, there is definitely a level of respect shown to Beth.

The story starts out with a body found at the lake and quickly picks up speed right from the start. There are a couple of plots playing out at once that really tie in nicely together. What I like most about Graham Smith is he is not afraid to take risks and always adds some element to his stories that are so original and out of the box. Smith also throws you off the scent as to who the killer might be and throws in a lot of “maybes” into the mix making the determination of the real killer so much harder to guess. To be honest, I found the story really disturbing especially with the unique twist Smith throws in. A Body in the Lakes can be read as a standalone, so if you missed the first book you can definitely pick up right here although I would suggest starting from the beginning so you can get the background of Beth right from the beginning.

Another great disturbing read by Graham Smith. I can not wait for the next installment in the Beth Young series.

Author Bio:

Graham Smith is the bestselling author of four explosive crime thrillers in the Jake Boulder series, Watching the Bodies, The Kindred Killers, Past Echoes and Die Cold. Watching the Bodies spent over two weeks at number one in the Amazon UK chart and Amazon CA charts. Graham is also the author of the popular DI Harry Evans series and has collections of short stories and novellas. His latest novel with Bookouture is set in Cumbria and the Lake District, featuring DC Beth Young.

He is the proud father of a young son. As a time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer for the well-respected review site Crimesquad.com since 2010.

When not working, his time is spent reading, writing and playing games with his son. He enjoys socialising and spending time with friends and family.

Author Social Media Links:

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/grahamnsmithauthor/

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/GrahamSmith1972

WEBSITE: https://grahamsmithauthor.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5446655.Graham_Smith?from_search=true

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

One response to “Blog Tour and Review: A Body in the Lakes by Graham Smith @GrahamSmith1972 @bookouture

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.