Review: Call Me Evie by J.P. Pomare @JPPomare @PutnamBooks

Posted February 28, 2019 by sinfully in Mystery, Psychological Suspense, Psychological Thriller / 0 Comments

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Call Me Evie by J.P. Pomare @JPPomare @PutnamBooksCall Me Evie by J.P. Pomare
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons on March 5, 2019
Genres: Psychological Thriller
Pages: 368
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
ASIN: B07DT2ZZ3G

AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads

In this propulsive, twist-filled, and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever.

For the past two weeks, seventeen-year-old Kate Bennet has lived against her will in an isolated cabin in a remote beach town--brought there by a mysterious man named Bill. Part captor, part benefactor, Bill calls her Evie and tells her he's hiding her to protect her. That she did something terrible one night back home in Melbourne--something so unspeakable that he had no choice but to take her away. The trouble is, Kate can't remember the night in question.

The fragments of Kate's shattered memories of her old life seem happy: good friends, a big house in the suburbs, a devoted boyfriend. Bill says he'll help her fill in the blanks--but his story isn't adding up. And as she tries to reconcile the girl she thought she'd been with the devastating consequences Bill claims she's responsible for, Kate will unearth secrets about herself and those closest to her that could change everything.

A riveting debut novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, Call Me Evie explores the fragility of memory and the potential in all of us to hide the truth, even from ourselves.

Kate Bennet is only seventeen years old when she finds herself held captive by a man named Jim. He swears he is only trying to protect her from herself, but Kate does not believe him. All Kate wants is to go back home to Melbourne. Jim tells Kate her new name is Evie and no one can ever find out who she truly is. The police are looking for her as something terrible has happened back home, something Kate can’t even remember. Is Jim really trying to help Kate? Or does Jim have an ulterior motive in keeping Kate locked away from the truth?

These are just some of the questions that will go through your mind as you immerse yourself in this explosive psychological suspense by debut author, J.P Pomare. Call Me Evie is a gripping slow burn story with many twists and turns. There are many questions unanswered and little by little Pomare teases you with the truth surrounded by many many lies. I could not even wrap my head around trying to figure out what really happened, but Pomare gives us glimpses through the past and present as the story moves along. When the reveal finally presents itself it is utterly shocking.

I have to say the characterization in Call Me Evie is spot on. I couldn’t help but feel sympathy for Kate as she finds herself being held against her will. But, then I slowly began to wonder is Kate is whom she seems. I was totally drawn into her story and I kept going back and forth with my feelings for her. Pomare really does such a fantastic job keeping you guessing about Kate. What I also liked most about Kate is she is such an unreliable character and you can’t help but wonder what parts of her narrative are true and which are false. Jim is a spectacular character as well. I kept wondering who Jim really was and with some secondary characters, Pomare really throws you off in figuring out who he really is almost straight way to the end. Is Jim really trying to help her or is he someone more sinister than he seems? Wow! Such brilliant fleshed out characters. Not only are Kate and Jim fantastic characters, but there are also people in the town where Kate is being held captive that really add to the mystery.

If you are a fan of slow burn, twisty psychological thrillers than Call Me Evie will be right up your alley. Prepare to be drawn right in from the beginning. I am definitely looking forward to reading more from J.P. Pomare. I am definitely a fan!

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.