Blog Tour and Review: Running in Circles by Claire Gray @SapereBooks @claireEsnail

Posted February 20, 2019 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Mystery, Review, Thriller / 0 Comments

About The Book:

An international thriller with a shocking conclusion! Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, L J Ross, C L Taylor and Angela Marsons…

You can’t outrun murder…

When Lucy Lewis landed herself a reporting job on an idyllic Thai island, she thought she’d found paradise.

But one day her dream turns into a nightmare…

A bomb goes off outside her hostel and there is more than one fatality.

Although the local paper she works for is mainly a tourist guide, the phone is soon ringing off the hook with people desperate to hear news of their loved ones.

Together with her editor, Steve Boyd, Lucy finds herself drawn into the investigation.

And things become more complicated when the dead body of someone connected to the paper washes up on the shore.

Was the bomb planted by terrorists? Are the two incidents connected?

Lucy finds herself running in circles as she desperately searches for the key to the mystery…

RUNNING IN CIRCLES is a thrilling international mystery set in Thailand: a private investigation featuring an exciting new female lead.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK:

Add To Goodreads

My Review:

Lucy lives in a hostel in Thailand and works for the Koh Star, a small newspaper dedicated to tourism. Escaping her past in England is a welcome relief even if she is only writing articles on a Bollywood wedding. Along with her boss, Steve, they try to keep the paper afloat by catering to the Western tourists who come to Thailand to play golf and go to full moon parties. All that is about to change when a bomb goes off near the hostel. Both Lucy and Steve want to get the scoop and decide to investigate the bombing on their own, but in the mist of asking questions, a prominent figure on the island goes missing. How are these two stories connected and who is behind it all?

Running in Circles is the first book in the Lucy Lewis Thriller series and I must say the series is off to a great start! I love a good international mystery and Claire Gray has written a stellar story that is both gripping and intriguing. Gray easily pulled me into the mystery of the bombing and who could have been behind it all. The story really builds right from the start and I kept going back and forth on who was behind the bombing and why. Gray does a fantastic job keeping you in suspense pretty much all the way to the end of the book.

I really liked both Lucy and Steve as characters. They are both flawed, but down to earth, real and relatable. Maybe their friendship was sometimes blurred, but I can honestly say that it worked for this story. Also, I think through everything going on with the investigation it also brought them closer to one another and they were able to rely and trust in each other especially about each others past. I am really looking forward to learning more about Lucy and Steve.

Running in Circles is a fantastic international mystery that will keep you up late into the night as you slowly flip through the pages of this wonderfully written story. I will definitely be waiting in anticipation for the next book in the series.

About The Author:

Claire Gray lives in the South Lakes with her husband and two small children. She studied Creative Writing at the Cumbria Institute of the Arts, which no longer exists, having been absorbed by the University of Cumbria. She graduated in 2006 and then went on to complete a journalism course at Darlington College.
That same year, she won a Northern Promise Award from New Writing North, and her work was featured in their anthology, entitled Ten Years On. Claire now works as a freelance copywriter and continues to write short stories, some of which have been published in magazines and online.
Recently, she has been guest editor for the prose section of SpeakEasy Magazine, which showcases Cumbrian writing. In 2015, she received editing advice from The Literary Consultancy through their Free Read scheme. They felt that her manuscript, Running in Circles, showed potential, and began approaching literary professionals on Claire’s behalf. Sapere Books published Running in Circles in 2019 and Claire is really excited to have published her first novel!

 

 

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.