Review: Keep Her Close by Erik Therme

Posted January 18, 2019 by sinfully in Mystery, Review, Thriller / 0 Comments

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Keep Her Close by Erik ThermeKeep Her Close by Erik Therme
Published by Bookouture on Demember 5, 2018
Genres: Thriller, Mystery
Pages: 271
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
ASIN: B07H4KB9MR

AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads

Someone took your daughter. And nobody believes you …

Then:
Three-year-old Ally was found alone in a parking lot.
She was barefoot and dressed only in a yellow sundress. In the middle of winter.
What kind of person would abandon their daughter?

Now:
Fifteen years later and Ally has a new family.
But her real father has sent her a letter.
And now Ally is missing.

A gripping twist-filled thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Teresa Driscoll.

While on their way to a midnight movie, Dan and Holly, a young married couple find an abandoned 3 year old girl wearing a yellow dress in the parking garage. Three stories below is the body of a woman in a pool of blood believed to be her mother. Dan and Holly adopt the little girl and name her Ally. Fifteen years later, Ally is sent a letter from a man claiming to be her real father and he would like to see her before he dies of cancer. Ally has always had questions about her “real” family and thinks nothing of going to meet some stranger against the wishes of her parents. When Dan and Holly go looking for Ally, they find her missing and will do everything in their power to bring their daughter back home. Has Ally really found her father or has it all been just a ruse?

Keep Her Close by Erik Therme really starts out pretty strong. I found myself really getting into the storyline and wondering if the letter Ally received is from her father or if something else is going on that goes even deeper. The story is full of twists that kept me guessing and engaged with the story. However, I never really connected with any of the characters. I did like Dan and his unwavering love for his daughter and the lengths he would go to find and protect her, but sometimes he did things that made me shake my head over. There are quite a few characters that I felt could have been left out as they really did add anything relevant to the main story. Plus, I didn’t necessarily feel like most of these extra characters were the smartest in the bunch and a lot of their storylines were pretty far fetched even for a fiction book.

Keep Her Close is an easy read and the mystery/thriller aspect kept me guessing, but the story did fall flat for me just a bit. Did I still enjoy it? Yes! It is a quick and easy read and I found myself engrossed even though there were a few issues for me with the characters and the story. What kept me going were the twists in the story which were really well done.

About Erik Therme

Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harbored runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering on his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his oldest. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa—one of only twenty-eight places in the world that UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature. Join Erik’s mailing list to be notified of new releases and author giveaways: http://eepurl.com/cD1F8L

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.