Blog Tour and Review: The Silent Dead by Graham Smith @GrahamSmith1972 @bookouture

Posted November 30, 2018 by sinfully in Blog Tour, Police Procedural, Review, Thriller / 0 Comments

Title:  THE SILENT DEAD     

Author: GRAHAM SMITH   

Publication Day: 30th November 2018

 

Buy Links :

Amazon: http://geni.us/B07H2DG957social

iBookstore: https://tinyurl.com/ydhftyxx

Kobo: https://tinyurl.com/y75k5vng

Googleplay: https://tinyurl.com/ybchbhzl

 

Description:

He’d found an angel for his collection. But one angel at a time was never enough…

Detective Beth Young has just joined the Cumbrian major crimes team when a body is found posed in a ritualistic manner – arms spread and graceful wings attached – at a crumbling castle in the hills of the Lake District.

The entire police force are on red alert. But Beth begins to feel she’s the only one who can follow the disturbing clues left by the twisted killer. Because she doesn’t think like everyone else. To Beth, crimes are puzzles she can solve. Even if real life is a little harder.

As more bodies are discovered in derelict stately homes across the Lake District, she knows she’s in a race against time.

But the killer is looking for another victim to add to his collection… Will Beth be able to save her? Or will he get there first?

A tenacious young detective with scars both physical and emotional, Beth Young will stop at nothing in her fight for justice for the innocent. The Silent Dead is the first book in the series. Set in the Lake District, it is perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and Peter James. 

My Review:

DC Beth Young has only been with the Force Major Investigation Team for a week before she got her first murder case. This is not just some ordinary run of the mill killing. The body of a man was found in a derelict building with a burned mouth and wings on his back. Beth believes this killing is the beginning of something much much bigger and much more sinister than anyone realizes. A killer is on the loose, one that Beth believes is just getting started. When the body count starts to rise and the FMIT is no closer to catching the killer, Beth is left trying to decipher the clues before anyone else turned up dead. But now, Beth has captured the attention of the killer. Will Beth be able to stop him before she becomes the next victim?

The Silent Dead is the first book in the Detective beth Young series and it starts out with a bang as you are thrust right smack dab in the middle of a murder investigation. Beth is the youngest detective on the FMIT and she sees clues and has a knack for picking up things others may have missed. But, not everyone on the team is happy with her being on the FMIT which makes Beth’s job just a little bit harder. She wants to be accepted as an integral member of the team, but in order to do so, she needs to keep her head in the game while making sure she does not screw up and become the butt of any more office jokes.

Beth is one tough cookie though. She is scarred both on the inside and outside and she does not cower easily. I love a female protagonist that can hold her own especially in a field primarily dominated by men. But, Beth does have some issues for me. At times, I wished she would have spoken up more, bu then again as the newest member of the team I can see how she did not want to muddy the waters. Beth is very smart and thinks out of the box. She looks at things as if they were a puzzle as she slowly puts together the pieces. I found her to be a great asset to the team. We do learn some of her backstory which I am sure will be further explained in later books in the series. I am really looking forward to learning more about Beth.

The plot of the story is pretty original. It is quite gory though, which I absolutely loved. The narrative is primarily told through Beth’s eyes, but we do get chapters dedicated to the killer where we get to learn more about him as well. I love when an author takes the time to include a killers thought and actions as it makes the book even more sinister. Graham Smith has penned an imaginative story centered around our killer and this is where the book really shined for me. This killer is completely deranged. The things he does is utterly shocking and made me squirm quite a few times.

While I loved the story, I did have a few issues with the overly descriptive text and felt that a few things could have been left out, but in no way did it take away from my enjoyment as a whole. I will definitely be continuing on with this series as Smith is a brilliant writer and holds nothing back and brings new meaning to the creep factor. I just love a story that can make me go “oh ewww,” while secretly enjoying every minute of it.

The Silent Dead is a riveting and intoxicating police procedural that takes the creep factor and kicks it up a notch. If you love a thriller/police procedural with just the right amount of gore and mystery then you will love The Silent Dead. I highly recommend you pick yourself up a copy and immerse yourself into the mind of madness.

 

Author Bio:

Graham Smith is the bestselling author of four explosive crime thrillers in the Jake Boulder series, Watching the Bodies, The Kindred Killers, Past Echoes and Die Cold. Watching the Bodies spent over two weeks at number one in the Amazon UK chart and Amazon CA charts. Graham is also the author of the popular DI Harry Evans series and has collections of short stories and novellas. His latest novel – The Silent Dead is published by Bookouture and set in Cumbria / the Lake District, featuring DC Beth Young.

He is the proud father of a young son. As a time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer for the well-respected review site Crimesquad.com since 2010.

When not working, his time is spent reading, writing and playing games with his son. He enjoys socialising and spending time with friends and family.

 

Author Social Media Links:

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/grahamnsmithauthor/

TWITTER:  https://twitter.com/GrahamSmith1972

WEBSITE: https://grahamsmithauthor.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5446655.Graham_Smith?from_search=true

 

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.