Review: Deliver Me by Karen Cole

Posted November 1, 2018 by sinfully in Review, Thriller / 0 Comments

 

 

Deliver Me
By Karen Cole
Published By: Quercus Publishing
Publication Date: Novemeber 1, 2018
Pages: 300 Pages

Synopsis:

THE NIGHT SHE DOESN’T REMEMBER WILL BE THE ONE SHE CAN’T FORGET

When Abby’s doctor tells her she’s two months pregnant she doesn’t believe him. She can’t be – she hasn’t had sex for over a year. But to her astonishment and dismay, multiple tests confirm it’s true.

Desperately searching for an explanation, Abby recalls New Year’s Day – the terrible hangover, the hole in her memory where the night before should have been and the inexplicable sense of unease – and realises that this baby must have been conceived at her best friend Danny’s NYE party.

Horrified that someone would have taken advantage of her intoxicated state, Abby enlists the help of Danny to find out which of the party guests assaulted her. But when she starts to receive anonymous messages it seems that while she has been looking into the father of her baby, someone has been watching her…

A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Teresa Driscoll’s I Am Watching You and C.L. Taylor’s The Fear. 

My Review:

When Abby Brooke seeks out the help of a doctor, she can’t believe the news when the doctor tells her she is pregnant. How is that possible when the last time she had sex was over a year ago? Counting backwards she realizes around the time she got pregnant Abby was at her best friend, Danny’s, New years Eve Party. A Party she barely even remembers. She does remember drinking tequila shots to get over her shyness, but after that she does not remember anything else. Abby asks Danny for his help needing to know who was at the party and who may have taken advantage of her when she was drunk. While searching for the man who did this to her, she starts receiving anonymous gifts and notes, someone knows she is pregnant and has been watching her every move. Someone who is desperate enough to do anything to ensure she has this baby.

I really thought the premise of this book was great. I love a good thriller I can sink my teeth into while trying to find out who the culprit is behind the story. While I enjoyed the main part of the story, I found the characters not easily likeable and some of the things they did pretty frustrating. Abby doesn’t exactly come out and say she was raped even though she does not remember anything about the night in question. Maybe she does not want to believe it at first? I don’t know, but I found it to be out of character for any woman who did not consent to sex to behave this way. Abby started to do her own detective work and was borderline harassing different men who were at this New Years Eve party which made her come across as a bit nutty. Of course, I did feel bad with what she was going through, but I did not like the steps she was taking to find out the truth. For this reason, I felt that I was never really able to warm up to Abby.

The pacing of the story was really good and I was kept guessing until the end as to who is behind Abby’s pregnancy. I had my own ideas for pretty much the entire story and to be honest I was kind of shocked that I was wrong. What I thought was predictable wound up being so much deeper than I thought. The best part of this story for me was the mystery and there were definitely a lot of red herrings thrown in to keep you on your toes.

Deliver Me is a good mystery that will leave you guessing until the very end. It is an easy read that you can breeze through in just a few hours. While the story did have its issues, it was still an okay read for me.

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.