Review: Twin Lakes: The Autumn Fires by Melissa Lason and Michelle Garza #bookreview

Posted October 12, 2018 by sinfully in Horror, Paranormal / 0 Comments

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Twin Lakes: The Autumn Fires by Melissa Lason and Michelle Garza #bookreviewTwin Lakes: The Autumn Fires by Melissa Lason and Michelle Garza
Published by Sinister Grin Press on September 30, 2018
Genres: Horror, Paranormal
Pages: 147
Format: eBook
Source: Hook of a Book
ASIN: B07GXYXGN1
AmazonGoodreads

A campfire in the distance should be a relief to a victim on the run, but instead, it signals darkness and the doorway to evil….

When Liz accepts a ride from a stranger, she ultimately becomes the victim of a heinous crime. After fighting off her attacker, she stumbles towards a campfire in the distance and onto the scene of a violent murder. The terror of discovering a decapitated young woman is only the beginning, as when the shadows begin to move, she finds that this new killer has set his sights on her. He wants her to share in an autumn fire.

Meanwhile local law enforcement, along with a secret group of town founders, are working to solve the murders and end to the autumn fires. Can they stop the perpetrator in time before he gets to Liz? The ancestors have centuries of wisdom on their side, and yet, will it be enough to stop a murderer calling upon the power of demons to guide him? After generations of hiding, will their identity be revealed to the unsuspecting citizens of Twin Lakes?

From the Bram Stoker nominated authors of Mayan Blue comes a new tale woven to introduce you to the creepiest of towns. For fans of Twin Peaks, Wayward Pines, or the new Castle Rock, this one is sure to draw you in.

October happens to be one of my favorite months. I love everything having to do with Halloween from horror movies to scary stories. So, this month is the perfect time to read some spooky stories and hopefully not scare myself so bad that I sleep with the lights on at night. Okay I am lying I am totally sleeping with the lights on! Yes, I am a scaredy cat!

Twin Lakes: The Autumn Fires is the first in a long line of scary stories I have chosen to read this month. Elizabeth “Liz” Troy is backpacking through the Pacific Northwest when she cross paths with a predator. Beaten and bloody she manages to escape, but the campfire she stumbles across is not the cozy kind. Liz walks into a violent murder scene with a decapitated woman’s body. This is not the first murder in the quaint town of Twin Falls, Washington either. Two other headless bodies were found recently and it has local law enforcement stumped. Will Liz manage to escape the clutches of a predator who still has his heart set on her?

Demons, beasts, and mediums. Oh My! Twin Falls is not your average town. The ancients tried to keep the place under the radar from outsiders. The last thing they want is an investigation into their town. When Liz wanders in with a predator hot on her trail it is up to the ancients to figure out who the murderer is before he claims his next victim.

I absolutely love the supernatural part of this story. The ancients have lived for centuries and keep the town in order for the most part, but when a demon shows itself the ancients are left questioning each other. I love how the predator is shrouded in mystery and you really have no idea who it might be for much of the story which really had me guessing. I never figured it out and was surprised when the reveal finally came.

Liz is an interesting character. She is backpacking after the death of her mother and she just gets stuck in this town like none other. Little did she know that its inhabitants. She is scared after her ordeal and she doesn’t know what to make of everyone. All she wants to do is leave and be on her way, but with a demon killer after her, she finds herself helped by the residents and the ancients as they try to keep her safe.

Twin lakes: The Autumn Fires surely delivered on the spook from people transforming to scary demons and everything in between. I found myself glued to the pages not wanting this story to end. I highly recommend if you are a fan of the paranormal.

Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Divider

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.